We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT IN THE AREA”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #231 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT IN THE AREA”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is excellent value for money, the food is freshly cooked and very good quality.The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome.This is a must try you will not be disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIMON O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    12
    2
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isla Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a fantastic little restaurant”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Several visits and a couple of take aways confirm that this modest restaurant consistently supplies quality food at reasonable prices. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. Service can be a trifle slow, due more to the food being prepared to order than any failure on the part of the staff, but this is surely better than feeling rushed.
All selections made have exceeded expectation, with all the standard range plus a good few others. Simple requests for more spicy food are acknowledged and executed without comment!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mojo49315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pricey!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been coming here for a while now, and love the food, but this place is really taking the p*ss these days when it comes to prices, which have shot up beyond all reason - I'd say 20%.

They also now charge for everything. Poppadoms are charged for, which many Indian restaurants do these days, but there is an additional charge of £2 per serving the chutney bowls to go with them.

Looks like this will be our last meal there.We've been recommended another two Indian restaurants as much better, so I'll review them on here after I visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Whicked Curry!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

These people used to also have the Royal India at The Station Hotel.

First time we have been to Taste of India... will we be back? Too right! Excellent curry, everyone in our group of 5 had something different and everyone was happy with what they had. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful, funny too. Service was excellent, you could not fault it.

Didn't have to wait long for our starters, they gave you enough time between starters and main course.

Everything was reasonable on the menu, the 5 of us paid just over £20 each including drinks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is our number1 Indian in Ipswich. The takeaway (delivery) is every bit as good as the restaurant meals and we make it a weekly treat. In fact we've sort of transferred our custom from the nearby AliShan, as good though the Alishan can sometimes be, the food here is just so much better.

The biryanis here seem very popular - the adjacent tables to ours both had the special birianys for the menfolk. The Tandoori & Tikka here is well flavoured, fresh, mouth watering, juicy and always perfect. Not like the dried up reheated stuff we've had from other places. It's turned my wife into a real Shashlik fan.The sauces are superb, and yes very distinctive in each case. The Bhuna, Dhansak, Rogan and Khari are all to be recommended.

The naan and rice options are plentiful, and if you want some other additions to your rice they are happy to oblige.

If you do go for takeaway delivery, then this place does make sure it arrives hot. Never had a problem in many many deliveries. We mainly do takeaway as the blue lighting scheme makes for a bit of a cool atmosphere and takes a bit of getting used to.

Midweek or Sunday nights there are very good value meal deals for folk who dine at the restaurant.

Try it, your mouth will love you forever!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing