We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some tired fixtures and fittings, but a good stay overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Some tired fixtures and fittings, but a good stay overall”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Contrary to other reviewers, my experience was a positive one. The hotel is well signposted, and while it's in a suburban area, there are large grounds, and the place is quiet and peaceful.

The room was average size, the bed was comfortable, the sheets were fresh, the bathroom was perfectly clean and worked fine, though it was ageing a little. The leisure facilites were pretty good (modern gym equipment, good pool/sauna/steam room), though the changing rooms were also ageing and a bit tired, they were perfectly clean and functional. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and the bar was fine and not, in my opinion, overpriced. There were functions taking place both nights we stayed there, but from the room there was no noise or disturbance at all.

Over all, good value and a pleasant stay. Don't be alarmed by the negative reviews.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your positive comments. We have had lots of other positive comments prior the more recent negative reviews, so it was particularly welcome. We recognise that some areas of the hotel are a little tired, but we strive to offer high levels of service which encourages many of our guests to return on a regular basis. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    352
    183
    84
    52
See reviews for
175
438
41
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed for two nights for a friends birthday. This is was our second stay in twelve months. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is getting a bit worn around the edges. This said, the rooms were clean and well appointed. The main attraction for us was the superb leisure complex with its lovely pool, spa, steam and sauna rooms. A perfect way to unwind after a week at work and it prepares you nicely for your evening.

The first night we went into Ipswich to eat, a taxi being only £5. The second night we ate at the hotel restaurant. Whilst not in the al a carte range, the food was acceptable and the menu sufficient for most tastes. The service was a bit slow but at the end of the day, what's the hurry?!

All in all, a lovely location for a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Door handle falling off - another lock fitted above this - 1st impression - looked terrible. Nice big room, however bathrom could do with an overhall - looked slumish...plumbing in sink noisy when running water, very poor spray from 'old' shower attached to wall so couldn't wash properly. No floor mat for outside bath, taps very ugly (meant to be gold plated we think). No face cloths as offered in other hotels. No digital TV and very poor reception on what channels we could view. Complimentary items - not enough for 2 people. No decaf refreshments cups felt gritty inside (as was bath). Worst of all, I had to remake the bed on arrival as it was not in a very good state, sheets were all over one side and quilt cover was badly marked underneath, reason we spotted the black marks was on turning it to remake bed, the quilt was tucked in so far under matress making the bottom of bed seem higher than top end. valance cover around bottom was absolutely filthy looking. Seating upholstery in lounge bar was very shabby/dirty looking, quite honestly if I was staying for more than one night I would have complained. The queue for breakfast waiting to be seated was another obstacle - we ended up leaving and finding breakfast elsewhere in the town. One nice thing about the hotel was the swimming pool area - it must be a fairly new addition as it looked clean and tidy, we had a quick tour about 10 minutes before it closed that evening and the chap was very pleasant and enthusiastic about caring for the place. Parking was good. Grounds very small. Our room had a small balcony which was an added bonus - plenty of fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank text4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your review. Sorry to read that the bed was not made up properly on your arrival. The hotel has had a number of owners over the years, and we are aware of the need for upgrades to be made in certain areas of the hotel. Our TV system is due to be replaced shortly, and we will offer improved services once completed. We do offer a satelitte TV service. including all sports channels in the hotel bar.

We are proud of our leisure facilities at the hotel, and am sorry that you did not have time to make use of these facilities during your stay. I was delighted to learn that you found the leisure attendant pleasant and enthusiatic. We do try to provide high levels of customer care, which we hope in some small way makes up for some of the shortcomings in other areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

went with my partner to stay for two days of relaxation as when we looked in brochure it states in 9 acres of land mmmmmmmmmmm is that the 9 acres of housing estate that surrounds it. the rooms were filthy ceilings falling down in the bathroom, door handle fell off as we went in dust and dirt marks everywhere, stains all over the floor and chairs in bar, curtains that looked like they have never been cleaned. we were upgraded to a different room that was ok but the shower you would not want to use dont think its had a good clean in years and the shower mat was probably older than me. the meals were child like portions and not very good,the only good point was the duty manager who was as embaressed as we were disappointed, perhaps you should state in your brochure you are in administration and you cannot do any work on the hotel. we did get a letter from the hotel which was a waste of time as he stated we got upgraded and received a bottle of wine well im sorry whoever got the wine i hope you enjoyed it as it didnt come our way. so please stay elsewhere if you dont want to be disappointed x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karenEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thanks for your review and for your frank comments about your stay. I am sorry that you considered my reply to your letter of complaint was a waste of time. It was not intended to be. I can assure you that the ceilings in the bathroom are not falling down. We had hoped that upgrading you to a suite would have made up for your initial disappointment with your first room. Clearly we cannot satisfy all of our guests all of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We decided to stay in this hotel to celebrate our 24th Wedding Anniversary. Our first impressions were that the hotel is very shabby and although the staff were pleasant enough, after our stay that would not be enough to ever entice us back again. The hotel photos must be taken with a panoramic lens! Unfortunately the sweeping lawns and drive turned out to be a fairly small patch of grass and normal driveway. Our room - with balcony overlooing the gardens - looked over an even smaller piece of grass lined with a few trees behind which was the car park. We reported the fact that our top sheet had a large hole in it to the reception desk who, whilst sympathetic, we noted did nothing to rectify the situation. We were astounded to find the bed made up the next day with the same holed sheet on it! The room was large, but badly in need of updating and I was not amused to find a thick layer of dirt on the pipe in the bathroom under the sink. No digital tv and only three watchable stations. The staff were friendly and the meals we had were cooked to our taste. However, we do not like buffet breakfasts and it was a case of fairly cold cooked food and waiting for toast in an orderly line. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. On the second night if we had not carefully checked our restaurant bill for supplements we would have been overcharged by more that £40! When we were asked if we enjoyed our stay we explained our concerns to the receptionist when we checked out and she did offer to call someone to look at the bill. I was not trying to get any money off - I just wanted them to be aware of the problems. I had hoped that since I booked the room over five months in advance and informed them that it was our anniversary - hence my asking for a special room - that just a *happy anniversary* from one member of staff to us would have been nice. It is such a shame that what was obviously once a beautiful old house is now so run down and being in the middle of a very large housing estate it feels very closed in. I am sad to say thay I wish we had spent our anniversary elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley-ann58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thanks for posting your review. I was sorry to learn that you would have preferred to spend your anniversary elsewhere as a result of the services you received and for the condition and location of the hotel. The hotel has a number of different owners over the past few years, and there has been little significant investment in the property as a result of this, However, we are often complemented for the charm and style of the property, and consider that we generally offer our guests good value for money for the prices that we charge.

It is unfortunate that the expansion of Ipswich means that the hotel in no longer in the favourable country location that it once was, but we still consider the hotel to be in an oasis of peace and tranquilty, whilst enjoying close proximity to the town centre. We have pleasant gardens and grounds and the brook and gardes provides an interesting array of wildlife, including kingfishers, water voles and brown trout..

I apologise that you were not congratulated on your anniversary and for the dusty pipe in the bathroom. We would normally offer our guests on such a celebration a card and good wishes, and apologise that on this occasion, this was not picked up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Good reception area with reasonable car parking facilities. Found staff helpful and informative of the area. Rooms adequate if a little small but with a high standard of cleanliness.Food served of good quality with good ambience in restaurant.but be careful of height of door into restaurant. Very quiet area and somewhat difficult to find. Did not try water features.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredBloggsWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the services provided by the team at the hotel. Although we may be considered difficult to find by some visitors, the hotel is well sign posted by brown tourist signs if approached from the main A12/A14. Hope you get time to use the leisure facilities should you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I am very torn reference this hotel. I stayed here recently as a family wedding reception was being held here.
The function room was spacious, and the space was utilised very well. The staff had done a really amazing job and the room looked great; really fit for purpose. However, my issue here was the bar was overpriced (£8 for a lager shandy and small house wine). I'm very ashamed to say that at a family wedding I started watching the pennies...
The room (bar giving me a terrible shock when I walked in and saw just a stained sofa -until I turned around and saw the bedroom area) was nice. Very spacious and had the one thing every hotel lacks -a good mirror you can get up close and personal with during critical make up application... The bed was so comfortable and there was additional blankets in the cupboard in case you needed them. The only thing to improve the room in my opinion is a little carpet clean wouldn't go amiss.
The bathroom in the room is my main pro's & con's area. The water was really hot -every time we used it; and it made a lovely change to other hotels that in peak times dwindle. But unfortunately, that is the only good side of the bathroom. It was actually really rather dirty; As I was sitting in the bath I glanced over to the toilet and the thick scum under the rim was enough to have me 'hovering' for the rest of the stay. It was at this moment I started to really look around and noticed 20% of the tiles on the floor were cracked or damaged. The tiles on the wall, with a little condensation were a disgrace; covered in splashes of various shampoo's/shower gel's and not removed with a cleaner even remotely strong enough (if any cleaner at all was used). The bathroom is without question the weakest link here.
We also made use of the pool area and the sauna. This area was really child friendly with a seperate little pool. The staff there were also nice to use their discretion when the kids wanted to go in the jacuzzi; they let us sit them on our laps with our feet in and just flick them with the bubbles; happy children and only slightly stretching the over 18's only rule...
Generally, the hotel is quite charming, but the bathroom within our room was just not clean enough. I wouldn't opt to stay here over other hotels in the area, however if we attended another function here, I would stay in hope it will redeem itself in the cleanliness department.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sez_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thanks for your review. Your comments concerning the standards of housekeeping and maintenance have been discussed with the Housekeeper and will be monitored to ensure they are improved, particularly in the bathroom. I am glad that you found the services and facilities provided in the bedroom, for the wedding reception and the leisure centre to your general satisfaction, and that the chidren enjoyed the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
14.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel

Property: Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing