We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable & relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Pulham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable & relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me & my partner stayed on a Friday & Saturday night as we were at Jimmy’s Farm Festival and wanted somewhere close to stay and relax afterwards. We got a good rate with breakfast for 2 nights. The hotel is old and quaint just on the outskirts of Ipswich. They have a large car park and is easy to find as its sign posted on entrance to Ipswich. The rooms are very spacious and clean, but sometime get a little hot as there is no air-conditioning, they do provide you with a fan though which helps a little.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very nice with excellent food from a good choice of menus. There is a small relaxing bar area and also benches outside on their lawn if the weather is nice. Breakfast is a buffet which is replenished frequently to keep everything fresh.
The swimming pool is lovely and large with access to the gym, spa, sauna and steam room. They provide towels at reception and you don’t need a pound for the locker either!
Very enjoyable stay and will be back again next year to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlosb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and found the facilities and services to your satisfaction. We get numerous compliments about the hotel from our Guest Comment cards which are infrequently posted on TripAdvisor, so it is good when the positive comments are put on line. We look forward to welcoming you back for the Festival next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    353
    186
    86
    52
See reviews for
178
443
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just returned from a 3 day Spa Break at Belstead Brook with 3 friends and it was great. We stayed there last November and returned last weekend as wanted to see it in the Summer. We had a great stay, treatments, food, rooms, pool were all excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Wendy in reception. Ipswich is a short distance away and worth a visit. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on first floor have a better outlook than ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your return visit to the hotel. Your positive comments about the services and facilities are much appreciated. It is always good to know when we have satisfied customers and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I enjoyed my stay. The food was good and I was quite comfortable.

However, why do people build (or extend) a hotel in the 1970s, and then presume that they don't have to touch it ever after. I felt like I was on a film-set of The Avengers. I sat there, waiting for Emma Peel to come barging in through the doors….. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatelyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hopeful that the hotel will soon have new owners and that the necessary investment made at the hotel. In the meantime I can carry on hoping that Emma Peel makes a dramatic entrance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very much enjoyed the facilities I.e swimming pool, gym etc! Room was very comfortable but unfortunately manger in restaurant was the most awful woman I've ever met, beyond rude! Couldn't be bothered to help with anything and wouldn't crack a smile. The young waitress' worked very hard and were bossed around by her! If it wasn't for them we would have got up and walked up! Neither myself or my partner have got over the horrible experience of that awful woman.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica10156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
If the review related to a visit in January, as stated, it has taken an awful long time to post it and even more difficult to investigate your review. If it did happen, I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a week ago and was so impressed with the room, it had French doors and the bed I couldn't reach each side. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean and added to the character. Huge amount of storage so would be perfect for a few days.
Here us the but, I met friends and we didn't pre book the restaurant so we went into the bar area! Total chaos! There ended up being 10 of us and apart from about 6 other people in the bar. 4 of us never got starters because they ran out our meals appeared in dribs and drabs over an hour and two people ended up ordering pizza takeaway! Getting the right receipt was a complete debacle! My advice is pre book and with a large party ensure they have what u want before u go! But saying that I had a lovely nights sleep and the staff were all polite.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank manizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I apologize about the service issues you experienced. The hotel was much busier than anticipated and as a result service was not to our normal standards. Different procedures and training have been implemented should a similar situation arise. On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you were impressed by the hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has a lot of potential, but lets itself down in a few areas. The hotel cannot help being old, but it just feels grubby, and I don't think there is an excuse for that. The carpet in the room we stayed in just looked tired and dirty. It would be much more cost effective in the long run to get rid of the carpets and replace with a hard flooring. So much easier to keep clean and will stand the test of time. The walls could do with a good paint, maybe with a brighter colour to 'cheer up' some of the darker rooms. The bathrooms could do with a complete overhall. Cracked flooring, peeling paint, limescale on taps, rusty hooks in the wall, grime in the grouting, hair in the plughole (no, no excuse for this). As I say, I understand this is an old hotel, and you cannot help the plumbing, actual design of the sink/toilet but whats wrong with a good steam clean of the tiles and keeping the taps limescale free! My bathroom is old, and there is no sign of grime or limescale whatsoever. Towels could do with an upgrade as very thin and tired looking. Also, the remote control for our TV had yellow tape around it to hold in the batteries, and even then when you wanted to change channel, you shad to squeeze the batteries in place to do this! The fan supplied was falling apart and we had to tie this together with the handle of a plastic carrier bag. Bed comfortable, and we had two good nights sleep despite the storms! Pool and surrounding very nice, and the lad supervising was very nice and polite. Changing rooms a bit dated. The staff in general were nice, reception were very helpful and friendly, unfortunately the service was let down by a very surly waitress at breakfast on 20/7/2014. She did not smile once. We were offered a seat in the room that the food was in, but we asked politely if we could move to the outer room to be near a window. This was not a difficult task, but was met with a 'look', and a sigh, and we were begrudgingly moved. As it was 8.05 and the restaurant was empty with no reserved tables, we could not see why this was such a problem. We are never rude people and do not want to be waited on hand and foot, but a smile would not go amiss. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. Young waiting staff (except the surly waitress) worked very hard. Our stay was not a terrible experience, but not an amazing one. We understand money does not grow on trees, but with a few changes to decor, cleanliness, and the odd staff member, this hotel could be so much more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us and for the constructive comments about many aspects of your stay. Every effort will be made to improve those areas which can be rectified through basic maintenance and training. It is likely that the hotel will be acquired by new owners in the near future and we hope the necessary investment will be undertaken to improve many of the other areas which require upgrading..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely break at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, The pool is very welcoming after a long drive and we found the hotel very relaxing as its set in lovely quiet surroundings.
Take no notice of the bad reviews as this is not a 5 star hotel but it doesn't say it is. If you want the ritz then go stay there. But if you want a nice clean hotel with a great breakfast and great evening meal then stay here.
We will definitely be returning. :-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your break with us and found the facilities and services to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
465 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
556 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel

Property: Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing