We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Superb Stay!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our third stay at the Belstead Brook Hotel and in the same suite (more on that later). This time we decided to take our ten year old Daughter Molly for Christmas shopping in Ipswich and for a bit of R&R before Christmas gets in full swing. The staff are great from reception to the bar to the house keepers they are all very polite and make your stay a very pleasant experience. The restaurant with its traditional wood paneling offers superb food at a very reasonable price
(£ 21.95 for three courses) with the wines again being very reasonably priced (£ 16.50) for a bottle of Chenin Blanc. Other hotels want to take note of the Belstead Brook's pricing on drinks as you do not feel 'ripped of' as you can sometimes feel in other hotels with the bar bill. There was a very nice young chap behind the bar (I cannot remember his name) but he was so good to Molly as she loved the J2O Christmas drink and he only had three left so he made sure that they were saved for Molly, well done and I hope that the manager of the hotel reads this and praises him accordingly? We stayed in one of the presidential suites room 324, this is a very large and spacious room with two bathrooms and has avery nice feel about it. My only concern is that and although they have updated the decor, it still feels very dated and not very well decorated. The carper is dirty and is well past it's sell by date. The bathroom although clean looks grimy where the years of water marks have stained the glass to the shower and the shower head plus the grouting needs well re-grouted. For a suite a plastic toilet lid is unacceptable. Personally and if I were the management I would shut that room down and change over the whole of the suite as it is a lot of money to pay for a room that needs modernising. The hotels facilities especially the pool, sauna, spa etc are 1st class. So all in all a very good stay and we will definitely be back, but come on the management do your staff the credit that they deserve and modernise suite 324 it does not do you or your staff justice.

Room Tip: Don't be put in the outside accommodation block away from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your constructive and comprehensive review of your recent return trip to Belstead Brook Hotel. We were delighted to read that you and Molly were happy with the services provided and will ensure your comments are passed on to the relevant members of the team and in particular to the barman.

The Company is aware of the need for upgrading sections of the property and we have been working on numerous improvements and redecoration's within the hotel. It is our intention to continue this program. It is good to read that you will definitely be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    359
    189
    86
    52
See reviews for
181
450
41
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having worked across the UK for the last 4 years and stayed in well over 50 different hotels this is the first one I have left before I even unpacked, and the first I have ever felt the need to leave a negative review for. The room was a disgrace with dirty taps, toilet, tiles, cobwebs, peeling wallpaper and stains on the carpet. There was a strong musty smell as you walk into reception which fortunately didn't carry through to my room. Although, unfortunately, the drain in there smelt just as bad so I didn't miss out. The wifi didn't work in my room either. I was offered a look at three other rooms to see if they were any better, but they weren't. Overall, a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Choose the Premier Inn at Chantry Park instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crammy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel. We have been awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for the second year running with over 72% of the reviews as either excellent or very good, so we are not aware things are that bad. Neither, far more importantly, do many of our repeat regular customers. Not quite sure how you rated the sleep quality as you didn’t stay with us! Have a nice Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Belstead Brook along with 46 other guests arriving by coach from the south coast, for a weekend trip to visit the Thursford Show. From the time of arriving to day of departure, our stay was throughly enjoyable. The staff at reception, the restaurant and the house-keeping where all very polite. cheerful and helpful. The rooms were clean and spotless and the beds very comfortable. Being on Half Board, the buffet breakfast was plentyful, with choices for all tastes and the evening meals were very well presented and satisfying.
The only reason I haven't given an *excellent* rating to this hotel, was the plumbing! although the hot water at the basin was fine,a few of our group found the hot water at the shower was tepid (bacteria problem here if not carefull), and the toilet flushing system was weak. But all things considered, a throughly enjoyable stay by everybody in our group

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your weekend trip with us and found the facilities and service we provided were to your satisfaction. Your comments have been passed on to the members of the team. It is good to know when we get things right. I will ensure the thermostats on the showers are checked. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you are planning another visit to the Thursford Show
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Swallow Belstead Brooke several times and have always had a great time.
some of the rooms needed a face lift but over the years they have been gradualy bringing them up to a good standard. One tip is to try and book the rooms overlooking the Brooke and gardens
as they seem to be a little bigger and you do not get the traffic noise of the car park. we have never stayed in the garden bungalows as we are pensioners and do not like walking in the rain to and from dinner ! they do however look very nice. another tip is to go for an upgrade and stay in
one of the rooms with a balcony as they are bigger and have very nice furnishings and French windows. The pool and facilitys are of a high standard with plenty of loungers and coffee on hand. One slight glitch is that the pool is let out to swimming clubs and non residence so it can
get quite crowded at times. To sum up Great food, great pool, nice rooms and very friendly and helpfull staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your latest stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you always enjoy your visits to the hotel and that you are noticing the improvements we are undertaking at the hotel. Thank you also for the positive comments about the facilities and services we provide. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
The leisure club is open for memberships to non residents, as most hotels do, but we do not have any swimming clubs who use the facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice and relaxing weekend, facilities very good. Friendly staff and helpful. Room was nice and the bed comfortable. Swimming pool and spa very nice. Restaurant good food and a very good breakfast. Although busy there was a nice atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry18438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank for the positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found the facilities and services were to your satisfaction and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Just want to say what a lovely hotel, food, rooms, swimming pool & especially the spa treatments are excellent. We've been here from Friday 29th November until Monday 2nd December & had a really relaxing time. Staff have been very helpful. We went into Ipswich on the Saturday quite a nice town & been to Southwold on Sunday. It's just so nice to get away for a few days with great friends. Would recommend this hotel if you just want a relaxing break & enjoy some pampering.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your weekend with us and enjoyed exploring some of the delights of Suffolk. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Hotel appeared to be fully booked with a mixture of wedding ,hen party ,conference , meetings and package pamper parties . Despite this the room was clean and quiet and the numerous young staff were courteous, helpful and well supervised. The restaurant provided us with an equally good experience and the food was plentiful and tasty both for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It is good to know when we get things right and it is particularly good to know that when we very busy we are able to provide services and facilities that are appreciated by our customers. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
474 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
567 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel

Property: Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing