We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a year ago and decided to repeat the experience due to the excellent previous stay. In the main, we were very pleased again: good car parking; helpful receptionist at check in and out; very nice spa area although looking a bit tired in the changing areas. The room we had was of a good size and very clean; bathroom was a bit tired but clean. Restaurant food was very good both at dinner and breakfast although service at dinner could have been improved slightly. Very handy location for Ipswich and hotel situated in lovely grounds. Would recommend and use again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lind012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks for your positive review concerning the services and facilities at the hotel on your return visit. The team was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience again and thank you for the recommendation that you have given.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    347
    182
    84
    52
See reviews for
172
432
40
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

After reading reviews on line i was a feeling like i booked the wrong hotel for a spa break but i after a great weekend i would recommend this hotel and its good value for money. Room was a bit dated but was clean and bathroom was clean with plenty of towels so for one night it was fine. Had lovely massage (defiantly recommend) with use of swimming pool, steam room, and sauna again was all clean and welcoming. Staff were all friendly, beauty staff and restaurant staff especially. Food was perfect, didn't have to wait long and was very tasty. Breakfast was a nice, big selection and using the pool before you check out is worth it especially if you have had a few vinos the night before!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view - we had a sky liner window and wouldn't open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleessex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We were all delighted to learn of your positive experiences at Belstead Brook and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Overnight stay on business at the end of May. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, particular praise for the restaurant staff at dinner - the ladies were absolutely charming. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna excellent. However my room was poor beyond belief - very grubby walls (would take a painter about 1 hour to make look like new) horrible stains on the carpets (30 minutes to clean properly) and a tired old bathroom that had been given a 'quick wipe' rather than been cleaned. No soap in the bathroom. The manager should do a bit more 'managing' of standards. Such a shame, great potential, but I won't be returning to stay here.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and you r complimentary comments concerning the staff and leisure facilities. I am sorry that you were not happy with the standards in your room and will continue to monitor the housekeeping standards. We have decorated a number of rooms recently and are planning on continuing with the program.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had high hopes for this hotel, but was very very disappointed. First room, 322, smelled of terrible damp. Was moved to first floor, where the bathroom was filthy and the overall state of the entire room was dirty - like no one has ever bothered to wipe down the counter tops. Check my photos, sort of says it all. Tried to complain to Swallow hotels corporate but was hung up on...so couldn't even put my complaint in writing. Well, I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasing_sunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
I was sorry to learn of you were not happy with the housekeeping standards in your room. As mentioned in previous comments, we do have a need for some work on the bedrooms and we do attempt to ensure our rooms are clean. We receive many favorable comments as to the housekeeping and it is our intention that we maintain high standards. As the hotel is located next to Belstead Brook there is the possibility of an associated smell.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a one night stay here after a wedding reception downstairs, so it was lovely just to go to the room without having to order taxis etc to get home. We didnt get up early enough for a swim, but we did go and look at the pool and surrounds, which did look great. The buffet breakfast had just about anything you could wish for and more. The staff were all friendly and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent positive experience. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed you short stay with us and are grateful for your positive comments concerning the facilities and services we provided.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here overnight this week and we were very disappointed. Check in was good and efficient. We liked the reception area. The room was as most people have said in desperate need of upgrading..but, having said that was very clean. The walls are very thin and we could hear our neighbours next door. The television was set on a volume so low, we could not hear it. The wi-fi was very poor and we had to stand in the corridor to get a signal.
The whole experience was spoiled by the lady in the restaurant's attitude....so rude we did not stay and dine in the hotel. She needs a course on Customer Relations. We had asked to join our friends at a table who had been seated...she told us that the table was not big enough and she could not move us to a larger table as the restaurant was fully booked, and we could sit at a two table....elsewhere...This we did in another restaurant in the village. We found out later that this larger table for 6 was not occupied all evening.....Would I return???? NO!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. We were pleased that you found your room very clean, but were sorry to learn of other aspects of your stay which spoiled your visit. I was particularly disappointed to learn of your experience in the restaurant. Unfortunately there were no larger tables available in order for you to join your friends. The larger table to which you refer had been booked for 9.00pm, but the guests failed to take up their reservation. I apologize for the way your request was dealt with. Our normal high Customer Service levels appear to have fallen well short on this occasion and every effort will be made to ensure there is no repetition.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Once this hotel was in a more prepossessing environment but the development of housing estates now surrounds the hotel. The immediate grounds are still quite pleasant and there is adequate car parking.

I booked two rooms at relatively short notice and phone to request that they be located close together. This was done, although it was quite difficult to get anyone to answer the phone. I booked online and through hotels.com and the room rate was slightly lower than those I found on the hotel's web site.

The rooms were on the top floor of the hotel. They were quite large but one part was in a loft space with no windows and so was dark all day and needed the lights on, and the lack of a window meant that those areas were airless. The weather was quite cool during our visit - fortunate since there was no air conditioning and I suspect that the room could have been very hot.

The room was clean and the beds comfortable.

The restaurant is in a separate area of the hotel and access is via a corridor - just as well since the weather was very wet. There are different areas within the restaurant. The decor seemed OK to me. On a busy day there was a good buffet breakfast. When the hotel was less busy the cooked breakfast was prepared to order - the range of choice was rather less than for the buffet. The restaurant has limited opening in the evening. Returning from Ipswich Hospital having visited a relative (the purpose of the trip) we found that it was too late to use the restaurant (at 20.45) and the room service options were also limited - although delivered quickly. On the evening that we did eat in the restaurant they ran out of chips (for steak and chips) but offered potato wedges instead. The food was of good quality and served quite quickly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review of your stay. I am glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable.

Your comments concerning the service of breakfast are useful. The offerings at breakfast should be the same whether it is served buffet style or plated. Dinner is served up to 9.00pm. I am sorry that you were unable to have dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights of your stay. Both issues have been investigated and corrected.

We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
14.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel

Property: Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing