We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Cheshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We booked midweek for 2 nights. Requested a garden view, but there was a big tree outside which blocked a lot of sunlight. The room was a good size and very clean. The TV was on its last legs though, with very poor sound. The spa and pool were amazing, and we found any excuse to go there. Breakfast was in either of 3 rooms, all with slightly different themes, in the old part of the hotel; plenty of character. Service was excellent at all times, and staff very courteous and helpful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterJon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the constructive comments and feedback you provided. We hope to replace some of the TV’s in the near future.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and services provided and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    352
    183
    84
    52
See reviews for
175
438
41
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Dear Vicky
John and I would like to say a very big thank you, to all the staff
who worked in making our night special. The food was out of this world
everyone and I mean everyone said they really enjoyed it.
Darrell and the rest of the bar staff and
the duty manager Steve was so helpfull we cannot praise them
enough so please say a very big thank you to everyone
I LOVED it. So thank you again

Regards

Jenny John Harvey

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Congratulations on your Ruby wedding anniversary. Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to learn that you all enjoyed the celebrations. Your thanks have been passed on the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Chris Holden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon. Had a beautiful suite overlooking the 'brook'. Room was very clean, extremely spacious and there was a wedding congratulations card in our room from the staff (nice touch). Extremely good value for the size and quality of the room. Will be going back there sometime soon for sure. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Congratulations on your recent marriage. Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Belstead Brook. We were delighted to learn that you liked the suite and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I had been having a very difficult time with 3 deaths in the family and a serious illness so we really wanted to go somewhere for a few days to completely unwind and relax. As we approached the hotel I was a bit disconcerted by the housing estate surrounding it and wondered if it would be able to provide the peace and quiet that we needed. I need not have worried. we had a lovely room at the back of the hotel and heard nothing from the outside at all.
We were able to relax in the gorgeous pool and spa. The breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice even for someone on a diabetic diet like me. The dining room was relaxing and the waiters friendly and courteous. We only had dinner there on one evening as our daughter came and took us into Ipswich for a meal on a boat on the quay , but the one evening when we did eat in the hotel we found it of very good quality although maybe a little small in quantity.
The hotel is conveniently situated for visits to Constable country and to Ipswich. It was just what we needed and we hope to return to the hotel again soon..

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel, preferably on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the positive comments you provided. Despite the location and the development of housing estates, the hotel is set in a quiet, relaxing surroundings, and we are delighted you were able to unwind and relax.

Your complimentary comments concerning the services and facilities provided during your stay are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had a three night break with my wife on a DBB basis which proved to be excellent value for money. The hotel whist surrounded by modern housing is in a quiet location and well signposted from the main roads and ideal for visiting Suffolk coast and country and Constable country. I agree with other reviews that the hotel is very clean and tidy but could do with a bit updating and that the staff are very friendly and helpful. If I could share one anecdote; After checking in I asked the receptionist for directions into the centre of Ipswich and was told there were road works on the main road in, which were best avoided. She than provided me with printed directions avoiding the main roads which got me into the centre of Ipswich within ten minutes (by car). I would never have found this route on my own and they proved invaluable during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thanks for posting your review. We were delighted to learn that you considered your stay excellent value for money, and that you found the printed instructions for the directions into town useful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights here with my daughter and grandson. As previous reviews have said, the staff here are really great . We booked an executive room and was really pleased with the size , even with my grandson's extra bed there was still plenty of space. The french doors on to the balcony were a nice touch. My grandson was really pleased to have his own towels and toiletries on his bed, and there was even an extra cup etc. This is really unusual and it was lovely.We used the leisure facilities, and it was excellent, with no music to allow chilling. Now the food, really really good, the chef and his team deserve a special thankyou. We had dinner on both nights, and breakfast. The bar man was really helpful, and a special mention goes to the night porter, who opened the doors for me to get some fresh air in the middle of the night when I awoke with a really bad headache .

All in all a surprising lovely stay, and we will be back well done team Belstead

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecat4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and your complimentary comments about your stay. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the facilities and the services provided by the hotel and the team, and your comments have been passed on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Since my last visit to this hotel little has changed in respect of maintenance. It really does need some upgrading now. However if you like a building that may be scruffy in parts but more than makes up with lovely staff this could still be the hotel for you. The remarks i made in previous reviews still stand. The leisure centre is still one of my favourites in the area and the food remains imaginative and of a good standard. Breakfasts can be a little chaotic and am i the only person who hates having a miniature waste bin on the table at breakfast?

Room Tip: pay more and have a garden roomm - quiet and more spacious, but pack an unbrella as you have to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petosse-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary comments concerning the team, the leisure facilities and the food. It is good to know when we get things right. On your next visit, please don’t hesitate to ask a team member to remove the container from your breakfast table. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
14.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel

Property: Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing