We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed here on 30th January 2009 as a single occupant in a double room. I was allocated a room on the 5th floor. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was huge and had a seperate bath and shower, which is always nice.
A good selection of toiletries and towels were available in the bathroom also, with the hair dryer being stored in the wardrobe.
The room decor was quite infitting with the area I thought, especially the door style.
There are 3 clear areas to the bedroom: the bed, the office and the lounge. This works very well in the room, but would be a problem during summer I think when the sun is setting if you were working at your desk with a laptop.
I ordered room service just after I checked in, which was done to a good standard and the receptionist was very friendly. The room service order was dealt with professionally, although they didn't have a chef working during the afternoon. I just ordered a sandwich, which took a reasonable 15 minutes to arrive at my door.
Later on, the attendant came to my door to see if I needed any more tea, coffee etc and was very professional and friendly as well.
I booked a table in the restaurant, which has 2 AA rosettes, so I was expecting excellent food with excellent service.
The food was to an amazing standard and the chefs obviously know what they're doing. Starter, main and dessert were all excellent, though the cheesecake could have done with setting a bit longer perhaps. The service in the restaurant isn't quite what I expect from a rosette restaurant, but was to a good standard compared to some places. Some tips might be to get the staff to crumb before laying dessert cutlery, use trays/plates to carry cutlery etc.
The bed was quite comfortable, although I didn't sleep that well, but that is more than likely due to my nerves for the next day.
I had room service breakfast as I was in a rush. The full english was to a very good standard and the make of the preserves and sauces were very good.
Taking this into account, £114 for a DBB deal for one person for one night is actually quite reasonable. The rooms are immaculately clean, even in the places some housekeepers forget about! The staff are very friendly and it shows that a young team can perform as well as any other.
If I am in the area again, I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Good general service from most staff
  • Disliked — Lack of certain attention to detail in restaurant.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JonRLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    316
    87
    34
    15
See reviews for
113
805
30
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We chose the Salthouse Hotel for a weekend break after reading a review in Suffolk Magazine.

Our room was very clean and tidy and well presented, very modern but also a relaxing atmosphere. The staff were helpful right from stepping in to the hotel to leaving.

Although we did not choose to dine in the hotel restaurant, other guests we spoke to recommended it. The breakfast menu was fantastic and catered for all tastes. I would go as far as saying that it was the best cooked breakfast I have had in a hotel for a long time.

The hotel is situated right at the centre of the new harbour development in Ipswich, and is surrounded by some superb bars and bistros.

If there was only one negative thing I could say about the Salthouse, it is that the guest parking area is very small and many guests had to double park. Although not secured parking, the hotel does have a number of CCTV cameras located in the car park.

I would certainly stay again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and atmosphere
  • Disliked — tight parking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GringoJimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2009

my partner and i decided to take advantage of having a free weekend in december and decided to get some christmas shopping done in ipswich, and had heard good things about this little hotel
despite getting lost on the way we found the hotel fairly well and were greeted by a polite and friendly reception team, clear directions to our room and plenty of knowledge of how to spend our money in the town
the room: simply breathtaking views over a stunning marina we paid a little more for a front facing room and were so glad we did,
we booked a table for dinner and despite the restaurant looking fairly busy already, were met and directed to a table along the wall, and presented menus, our order was taken by a charming young lady and within what seemed like minutes we had homemeade bread and our starters, both of which were superb, a small delay which was welcome and our main courses arrived roast goose and fillet of cod, very tasty , my wife decided we should share a sticky toffee pudding and im glad she did as it was just right.
the nights sleep was only interupted by the need for breakfast, havent slept so well for months.
breakfast was very nice and with a full english breakfast inside us we headed into town
we'd recomend this hotel to couples and anyone wanting to treat the other half

  • Liked — very comfy bed, stunning room
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eatmydust32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

My wife & I stayed here from 31st October to 4th November.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room was very clean and well appointed except for the lack of drawers but there is a shelf unit in the wardrobe.
The bed was slightly hard but not enough to prevent a good nights's sleep.
The shower was one of the most powerful I've ever experienced, truly invigorating and a real wake-up call.
We ate in the restaurant every night because the food & wine were varied and reasonable value. With an emphasis on local produce the steaks were some of the tastiest we've ever eaten.
The breakfasts were exceptional. We will definitely use the hotel again if we return to the area which we hope to do.

  • Disliked — The Ipswich one way system, not the hotel's fault!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsRhinosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2008

This was a really nice hotel, much nicer than I'd expected for the city centre of Ipswich. We got a better rate by ringing to book than was advertised on the website, so I'd advise checking that out.

The service was really excellent - especially late at night, when the bar was kept open late for us.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Australian_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Just a quick review to say that we stayed last night after attending a wedding nearby. The whole experience was very good, and the rooms were clean, simply furnished and comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good, being able to choose anything from the menu. The staff were generally young and very friendly. We would return again and would recommend it. I imagine it is the nicest hotel in Ipswich and was informed that it will be extended soon!

  • Liked — Boutique style
  • Disliked — Would have liked to stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senoritatraviesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Did not get off to a good start. We had specifically booked a sixth floor room with air-conditioning via phone and had received e-mail confirmation. On arrival they had allocated room 501 – no air-con! All 6th Floor rooms were occupied so we had to spend one night in 501. Administration Black Mark Number One.

Rooms were a good size, clean and well maintained. However, the wardrobe was small and a fair proportion of the space was taken up by a rack of shelves. There were no drawers in the room - not even in the dressing table. There was a proper hair-dryer with attachments – not the usual hot air blower attached to the wall, which was a “bonus”.

There was no safe in the room.

Bathroom was clean and large and had a separate shower. Nice toiletries provided, plus two Towelling Robes.

Room 501 had a small balcony and two arm-chairs – no air con.

Room 601 did not have a balcony and only one arm-chair (for a twin room?) but did have air-con.

The hotel has a lounge with an interesting variety of paintings. And a variety of chairs – some more comfortable than others!

We had booked for Dinner on our second night. The table for two that we had been allocated was against the wall and was very close to the adjacent tables. (As were all the tables for two against the wall.) We asked to be moved to a table that had a reasonable amount of space around it. Knowing that we would be using the Restaurant in a couple of nights time we specifically booked a table for two with sufficient space. We were extremely surprised to discover that this table was in use when we arrived. We had to sit at a different table. Administration Black Mark Number Two. By the way, the food was quite nice and the service was good. However, my wife asked for Decaffeinated Coffee and was offered two sachets of instant coffee! This is in a four-star restaurant! It transpired that they had run out of Decaffeinated Coffee (we had had it previously) and would not be getting anymore for four days! Administration Black Mark Number Three. However, when we mentioned this to the Receptionist she arranged to get some Decaff coffee from her mother so that my wife could have Decaff for the rest of our stay – a Gold Star for the Receptionist!

Breakfast: only juices and water available as self-service – there are no cereals or fruit or any cold buffet on offer. This is the first hotel (of any level) that we have stayed at that does not offer at least some basic self service selection. There is a Fruit Salad option on the menu, but on the first day it was unavailable until the next delivery. We were led to believe that this was due to lack of ordering. Administration Black Mark Number Three. It has to be said that after two days the Fruit Salad did improve considerably in quality. The rest of the breakfast food was freshly prepared and well cooked – although the poached eggs on a couple of days were hard.

Reception Staff were always very helpful and polite.

Check-out was an interesting experience! We were presented with a Bill that had at least 15 lines for one night’s stay! Administration Black Mark Number Four. Most of the lines were reversals and then reinstatements of items. In the end the poor receptionist (who kept her cool remarkably) managed to reduce the number of lines on the bill and (more to the point) the amount charged.

The location of the hotel was ideal – right on the waterfront and an easy walk into the town centre. There are plenty of Bistros and restaurants close by. We would recommend:

For good coffee go to Coffee Link – turn left out of the hotel and follow the harbour wall round to the Neptune building where there is an excellent coffee shop. You can sit outside (weather permitting) and watch the boats.

Sea-Food: Loch Fyne Restaurant – turn left out of the hotel and take the first street on the left and the restaurant is at the end of the street. Nice fresh sea food.

Fish and Chips – Restaurant on Fore Street (closed on Mondays) – the best Fish and Chips we have had outside of Grimsby.

The pub (Isaac’s) next to the hotel has live music on Sunday afternoons and is a lively pub, and provides reasonable food.

Would we stay again? Probably for the location and hope that the administration picks up. (Take copies of all correspondence!)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor Administration
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
991 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing