We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed overnight here, and after returning back from a function the main seating area was full after midnight, and we went to sit down in the restaurant and expected to be told not possible. Thought, totally the opposite got us sat down and cleared the table and then promptly took and delivered our drinks order.. Breakfast the service was excellent, for a change nice to see in an hotel the right amount of staff to deliver excellent customer service... Will definitely visit this quirky hotel..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here this week for business.

The food was really high quality, I've got no complaints at all about my stay

Lovely rooms, great food and great location. Don't often give 5/5, but on this occasion well deserved.

Room Tip: Parking can be a bit of an issue, but the staff are more than happy to take your keys and find a hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimpo1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've eaten here a few times and finally decided to leave a review. For a hotel you never really know how important the food is to the venue.

I have always found the food to be nice there, very tasty and with a good menu. The staff are friendly and the feel of the venue is nice, cosy and welcoming. It isn't anything like the big chain equivalent and it has a touch of character.

I've taken the wife here a few times and the food has always has been well presented, tasty and well priced. I've taken clients here also and enjoyed just as good a service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Integrity976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here while on business a few months back for 1 night. Very pleasant staff who are attentive and polite.
Rooms are spacious, modern and the beds are very comfortable. Has a very relaxing atmosphere in them and homely feel.
Location is fairly central only 10 minute walk from train station.
I would recommend a stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graeme_R_Skinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed 1night only got a good deal with secret escapes.I had read reviews before I booked at the hotel didn't disappoint.Booked a standard double but very nice large room with window overlooking the Marina.Excellent customer service plenty of staff they even collected our car for us and parked at the hotel when we arrived as we had parked in public car park on the quay when we couldn't find hotel .The restaurant wasn't quite as good however would give the restaurant 4/5 I didn't think the menu was very large I didn't order a starter as nothing I liked.The next morning at breakfast saw a specials board which wasn't mentioned the previous evening.The breakfast was very good .The thing that makes this hotel so special is definitely the customer service.Would stay again if I could get another good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I went here as part of a group trip on a golf tour. It was organised by someone else, so I didn't have much expectation either way.
The harbour is nice, although I found Ipswich a bit of a disjointed town.
So far as the Hotel goes, the staff really couldn't do enough for you, they were so accommodating and helpful.
On our last day, we had to check out before breakfast started, but they were so helpful in still preparing us a full breakfast and in quick time.
The rooms were lovely,and in well kept. Loved the over head shower which you could stand under for hours!
Reception were exceptionally helpful as well, and I'd very much recommend staying here. Is a bit pricey in some respects, but they actually go as far as they can to make it worth it. Drinks prices are not cheap though!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Right from the off, when the reception staff moved us to a room accommodating our quirky preferences, through breakfasts, dinners and sundry little requests, this place was just a joy to be in.

If we return to Ipswich there's nowhere else we'd want to stay.

Room Tip: A view over the marina is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armchairgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
514 reviews
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
863 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: $173 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing