We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
andorra
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a great Hotel, right in the Marina. Had a nightaway and although it was raining when we arrived could not wish for a sunnier reception. The room (205) was large with semi views of the boats in the Marina.
Some of the art work in the Hotel is over the top, but adds fun and a talking point.
We had dinner in, the food and service were excellent. The team in the restaurant, ably lead by 'Alice' are a credit to the hotel and industry. Spent a liitle more than I wanted to but well worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestAndorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    310
    86
    34
    15
See reviews for
110
793
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would love to give the Salthouse a 5 star review, but sadly we were disappointed too many times to do so.

The hotel interior is lovely and unique, and certainly no complaints about our room (4th floor overlooking the harbour), nor the friendliness of the staff. Double-glazing on the windows ensured we had a restful night, and all other room amenities were as one would expect from a 4-star hotel.

However, it is the little things that we found lacking. The hotel restaurant was a disappointing experience. Upon arrival our booking was nowhere to be found, despite requesting a table several hours prior directly with a member of staff. Our entrée plates not wiped clean of spills before serving which is poor form, especially when charging a £16 premium. If this was a London restaurant, the complaints would have been audible. As it was, both tables next to us complained about their food at one point or another.

The meals themselves are over-complicated with much use of unnecessary ingredients and lacking in substance. When our meals finally arrived after a lengthy wait (and despite a server insisting we were most definitely had ordered the chicken and linguine when we had most definitely not) my pork was dry and overdone. A choice of 8 deserts further serves to complicate what should be a simple affair. Likewise, the wine list is poorly compiled with little to guide the reader,and key varietals and styles are missing.

To charge London prices, you need to deliver London standards of food, service and beverage. This is not the case here, leaving the restaurant both overpriced and under-staffed.

Our breakfast, ordered to our room the next morning, was late, albeit provided with an apology. But it was the 40 minute wait for our car to be retrieved from an off-site car-park upon departing that was the final straw for us.

In short, the hotel interior and rooms themselves are up to a 4 star standard. However, it was the sloppiness in other areas that left us disappointed. Avoid the restaurant until it picks up it's game and insist on a prompt concierge service. After all, you are paying for 4 star, and you have a right to expect 4 star service ALL of the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is redeemed by its staff – always helpful and friendly but I am bemused by comments of other reviewers. We spent 2 nights here: the first possibly the most uncomfortable night ever in a British hotel. No air conditioning, a curtain you can’t pull right across, so you darken the room with blinds blocking any airflow from open windows, and a complete wall of bare brick all mean you feel trapped as if inside a storage radiator on full! Basically little or no sleep. Strangely too, there were no drawers of any kind in the room.
We were helped by a move into another room in the modern part of the hotel for our second night. Air-conditioned, comfortable and a great view, but here we were struck by the extraordinary sanitary ware in the bathroom. A very snazzy-looking shallow sink that could be filled to a depth of about an inch, so pretty useless for washing, a free-standing high-sided bath that you’d have needed library steps to climb into, and a wet-room-style shower with glass panels but no tray, 2 ‘squirters’, and a multi-knob control panel that you’d need a degree in water engineering to operate.
And watch out for finding the hotel in Ipswich’s one-way system, especially when access roads are closed for the maritime festival.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the historic part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwheatley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel through Secret Escapes, and oh my word, what a wonderful place! Hotel and the room, superb, up on the 6th floor overlooking the harbour. The food was amazing, the service was really good, despite the fact that the hotel was full! and the table next to us had the most appalling family with the most badly behaved little boy it has been my misfortune to meet. Having said that the hotel dealt with the situation very well, and I think the mother reached maximum embarrassment and left, thanks goodness. The harbour and the atmosphere was really good. A mini Monaco, truly the best kept secret on the East coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is just amazing! stunning rooms and stunning views! fantastic staff who couldn't do enough for us, the best hotel we have ever stayed in, also amazing food if you want a romantic stay in gorgeous surroundings stay here! :) very happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday night and was impressed by the friendly nature and positive attitude of the staff. Car sorted promptly, taxi ordered and checkout was quick even though there was a queue. Bar service was good, only quibble would be it is a small bar area and the bar snacks weren't brilliant. would stay again and recommend it

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteJMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and booked in to one of the rooms overlooking the harbour: Room 508 has its own little balcony and a wonderful view: The hotel staff are very attentive and nothing seemed to much trouble: The hotel is extremely quirky and there is a lot of art, nick-naks and things to look at wherever you go:

The food in the restaurant is extremely good as are the breakfasts and the restaurant again has things to marvel at coming out of the walls from the wonderful paintings to the female wired torso suspended in one corner:

The owner of this hotel has created a boutique hotel with a lot of fun thrown in for good measure.

If you are visiting Ipswich, this is definitely the hotel to stay in:

Room Tip: Room 508 for couples looking for that little something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing