We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Salthouse Harbour Hotel in Ipswich.

The room and facilities were up there among the best we have visited both here and abroad.
The staff were both friendly and helpful and the food excellent.

The location of the hotel on the waterfront is just superb

Room Tip: Ask for room with view fronting the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottbradwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    297
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
103
763
29
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in the Salthouse on previous occasions and its always been good. This visit was no exception. I stayed in one of the Harbour View rooms and it was extremely well appointed.
The bedroom area had opening french windows overlooking the harbour but unfortunately no balcolny. It was extremely well appointed with comfortable furniture, a huge comfortable bed and a modern TV. There were tea and coffee making facilities but alas no mini bar.....
The bathrom was large and also well appointed including a large luxury bath and great shower facility. There was also an electronically frosting window between the bath and main bedroom, very novel!
The bar and reception area were extremely well presented as well as well stocked and the service was also very good. Unfortunately due to an early start the following morning I did not have breakfast but in the past it was very good.
Finally, (and yes you large chain hotels this can be done) as I was on business I needed WiFi and it was extremely easy to access and plenty fast enough!
Overall, a very enjoyable stay, wel done Salthouse Harbour Hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel on more than one occasion but this was the best. Staff bang on the button in terms of attitude and device, rooms seemingly refurbished and redecorated. I wouldn't be surprised if there was a new owner as there was definitely an air of the fresh broom sweeping through. Well done, great, keep it up!

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the marina, side rooms overlooking the bar areas can be subject to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Attending a wedding always means lots of stress, but staying at the Salthouse was everything you could ask for.. The rooms are amazing (old wing) with elements of the old building like iron girders incorporated into the decor. The service was perfect and they even have English staff which is really nice.

The only thing I don't like is to provide my credit card as a deposit when I have already prepaid. When are hotels in general going to start trusting their guests?

Congress with my highest recommendation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ideaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to the Salthouse hotel restaurant for a midweek evening meal. Lovely setting on a summer's evening. Very good selection on the menu. Service was good, if a little slow. Everything is cooked from fresh which understandably takes time, but as the restaurant was by no means full we were surprised by how long it took!
Disappointed as two of our party ordered fillet steak, which at £29.50 was not unreasonable ,I suppose, as it is after all a 4 star hotel. However when both were served not cooked as requested. The meals were taken away and fresh steaks cooked, but when four of you are eating , this means that two have finished their meals before the other two meals are ready.
We did in fairness receive a reduction in our bill, but would have preferred to have all eaten together as planned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked this hotel through an agency because we wanted a three bed room which the hotel website did not facilitate. We stayed three nights so any weaknesses in the hotel service would probably have become apparent in that time. Staff were all friendly and welcoming at all times. Particular thanks to Jen in the hotel who gave us great advice on renting property in Ipswich, the purpose of our trip. She was a great source of information and certainly reduced our stress levels. Breakfast is expensive by Irish standards but was enjoyable. We had sandwiches from the snack menu at lunchtime on the second day and were really delighted with the presentation and size of what was served, really nice. The hotel is within walking distance of some fine local restaurants and there is an off-licence across the road from the hotel in case you wanted some bottled water for your room. We met the district manager of the hotel also and our planned return trip to Ipswich will be to the Ramada for an encore. The staff made the hotel experience great for us, thank you. Next time we will ring the hotel directly to make the booking and make a good saving on what we paid the agency. Car parking outside the hotel is tight but there is a village car park within three minutes walk of the hotel, across a pedestrian steel suspension bridge . This car park provides free overnight parking and is easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonypnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

When the Salthouse Harbour Hotel opened, it seemed to herald of a more vibrant, foodie and upmarket approach to eating out in Ipswich. Sadly, the fault line that is the signature of this town - untrained staff, poor service, lack of energy and enthusiasm, has resulted in a frustrating and wasted evening. Lack of attention to customers, tired and grubby plastic tables outside, a waiting time of 45 minutes for a main course, and this in a restaurant a third full. No sign of waiters/waitresses for 15 minutes and no apology for the wait. Pitiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotel.de so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing