We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place for a special occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and couldn't have chosen anywhere better. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful; room with a Marina view exceptional and first class food. Would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to others. Made our stay and celebration special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    297
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
103
763
29
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint in any way. Lovely location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful and imaginative décor throughout and very comfy, well-equipped bedroom. Couldn't fault a thing and would definitely recommend. Hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the marina. It's pretty and there are lots of lovely places to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times now as it is our accepted business hotel when working in Ipswich. Hotel is quirky and has very interesting (or very odd depending on your point of view) décor throughout. If you ever watched Hotel GB on Channel Four, its very similar to that in terms of style.

Rooms are comfortable and I always get a good nights sleep here with good range of complimentary products e.g. coffee cafatiere rather than Nescafe sachets.

Car park is tiny and very awkward if you've got a bigger car. Not enough spaces for the number of rooms and not sure where alternative parking is close by. Worth checking before you go or if you will arrive late.

On the whole a good hotel. Staff are efficient if a little bit up themselves.

My bug bears for this hotel are: -

- No proper bar area so makes meeting up with colleagues for a drink before dinner very awkward. There are bars close by but you don't always want to leave the hotel after a long day of meetings.
- Took ages to get a drink in the lounge/reception area as no dedicated bar staff. We had to ask three times on one occasion to get a drink.
- Food is badged as excellent and well renowned locally but can honestly say this is the first hotel I've stayed at where I've struggled to find something I've really wanted to eat. Heavy emphasis on fish which I'm not a huge fan of. Had the cod cheeks which if they are supposed to be some sort of delicacy then I wasn't that impressed. Emphasis on presentation over substance but that's just my personal opinion.
- Took an age to be given menus then even longer for order to be taken. Food also took a while so ended up that a two course meal ended up taking nearly 2 1/4 hours. Not really acceptable for a hotel like this, regardless of how good the food is supposed to be.
- My car got blocked in at the car park and hotel had no idea who's it was and couldn't find the keys to move it. Meant I ended up being late for a meeting which left me less than impressed.

Breakfast was excellent with fresh cafatiere coffee which always goes down well with me. Lovely selection of local hot products like local bacon, black pudding etc. and all freshly cooked.

On the whole does its job well but just enough quirks to annoy me and unless you are a real foody probably better off going for a drink and something to eat in one of the nearby bars or restaurant's.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are best and have best views of the quay. Some rooms at rear of hotel suffer from la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culturevulture_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend away with friends in this very different but fabulous hotel. The decor is unusual but luxurious,with lots of talking points, the staff are helpful and plentiful and for all the modern touches this hotel has old fashioned standards which so many places have cast aside. It was wonderful not to have to 'serve yourself' - the breakfast choice was excellent and the service was equally good. The same applied to the restaurant in the evening. We'd never been to Ipswich before, and to be honest, would not rush back for the town, but this hotel is a good base for seeing many other areas close by. (Also, The Angel in Bury St Edmund's is owned by the same people, so we may well give that a try in the not too distant future as Bury is a very lovely town.) From the original booking (through 'Secret Escapes') the whole thing was handled beautifully with a personal touch throughout. I paid a surcharge for a harbour view, which was worth every penny and we would all definitely go back again. The hotel was also very quiet with little noise to disturb anyone (we were on the 5th floor), except for the wind outside which was pretty strong on one night. The whole experience was brilliant - well done and thank you to everyone.. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateDSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Salthouse Harbour Hotel in June 2013 and took advantage of their 'Suite Sundays' offer.
Wow! We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and the reception was boutique, stylish and very cool. Check in was quick, fast and friendly and we requested a room on a high floor which we were given. We had a sail loft marina room with a copper bath and it was just beautiful. The photos on the website are exactly what it looks like. The room had everything - amazing views of the harbour, a huge copper bath, a massive king size bed that could sleep 4 (!), a great bathroom and huge walk in shower, complimentary tea and biscuits, a TV, speakers etc - and anything that wasn't there we asked for and it came within 2 minutes. The room was full of interesting art and quirky pieces of furniture, which made such a difference to it. We headed out for a walk on the quay which was cute and lovely, and we ate at the salthouse restaurant - which was, like the hotel, stylish, friendly and delicious (particularly the squid with chorizo). In the morning we had breakfast in bed - delicious, on time and hot!
If you go, definitely pay more for the copper bath if you're in a couple - you will not regret!
I would, without a doubt, definitely go back to the hotel. It was so so romantic, relaxing, and wonderful. The staff were great, restaurant excellent and the room was beautiful. It was definitely worth the money.
5 stars! I urge you to go!!

Room Tip: Request a high up room (floor 4) and if you can, splash out on the sail loft marina rooms with coppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahspence93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked to stay for our Pearl Wedding Anniversary but couldn't venture far from home due to work commitments. We stayed in room 308 which looked out over the harbour and was a lovely room. We had a hand written card congratulating us on our special day, which was a nice touch.
Only negative about the room was that we could hear the people in the room above walking about, the floor was very creaky.
We booked to eat in the hotel restaurant and the choice of food was very good.
We chose Pea and Mint soup, Lemon Sole and Fillet of Salmon were our mains and for desert we had Cherry Frangipan with Marscapone ice cream and bannofee pie with banana cream. Plates were cleared each course.
Breakfast was also very good. A large choice and you could chose as many options as you wanted. The breakfast tea was very good and that doesn't happen very often!
Our stay was very enjoyable and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first stay at the Salthouse was June 2012. We stayed in room 104, a side room overlooking the car park. It was a lovely room, even though it wasn't a harbour view I could still watch the world go by!
Our second stay was on our wedding anniversary in December 2012. When we checked in, the receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade to a sail-loft marina room, We went to view the room first before saying yes/no. Well of course we said yes. The room was just fantastic. We had a copper bath in the bedroom and the most amazing bathroom as well. We decided to have our breakfast in our room the next morning. You don't get the full choice off the menu as you would if you ate breakfast in the restaurant, however it was good.
The third stay was a week later.( A Christmas present from our children). Again we were asked if we wanted to upgrade and again we asked to see the two different rooms they had to offer. I was cheeky enough to ask if we could view the penthouse, only so I could say I had been in it and we were shown around one that was empty. Wow, what a view and what a dream to stay in that I thought. Anyway we chose the sail-loft room without the cooper bath this time. We went to get our cases from the car and on our return the young lady who had shown us around the penthouse said it wasn't occupied that night and we could stay there. We jumped at the chance. Heavenly, big, gorgeous, just lovely. The only negative thing about the penthouse is the bathroom, it is not as nice as the sail-loft marina rooms!! Believe it or not.
The staff are always friendly and polite, can't do enough for you.
We stayed for two nights June 2013, the sail-loft marina room and we never get fed up of staying there. I have already booked for another stay in September and again in December.
IT IS WORTH IT.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sail-loft marina room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing