We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$77
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
pentahotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$91
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveler rating
970
339
97
38
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
339
97
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopper bathsail loftmarina roomthe penthousesalt housesister hotelscallopsin bury st edmundslovely hotelfront facingsuffolk breakfastafternoon teafree standing bathcar parkbreakfast in bedboutique hotelhuge bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,053 - 1,058 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just come back from a wonderful couple of nights at the Salthouse Harbour. I only had a standard room but it was very big with a view of the quay. Staff were helpful and friendly. Interesting furniture and wall decorations. Would recommend it and would stop here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous561951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Perfect location, close to town. Amazing breakfast, cooked and continental, would of liked more! Great views across the river and boats, clean rooms, comfortable. Good value for what is offered. Restaurant downstairs quite expensive but good quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Based on good tripadvisor reviews,my sister and I met with our parents for Sunday lunch. We were impressed by the initial decor and ambience of the hotel reception and bar area and looked forward to our lunch,despite there being a £4.00 supplement for roast beef or duck. 2 courses cost £18 or £22 for 3 courses. Service was slow but pleasant but the waitresses aprons were dirty as were the toilets. Our starters were very nice but lukewarm. Main courses were lamb and pork and again lukewarm with tough meat and roast potatoes that were unpleasant and difficult to cut. I didn't want to make a fuss as this was a family get together but I did mention to the waitress that the food wasn't hot....her response was that she would pass the comment on. I expected a reduction in the bill but this wasn't forthcoming. This is not a cheap,Sunday lunch out and we were all disappointed..how difficult is it to serve hot food and decent meat and roast potatoes ...?? Also,cleanliness in public areas and in staff appearance is crucial to repeat business. I don't normally complain but this was worth mentioning as it would be so easy to get it right..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel was lovely. Great location. Had penthouse room which was lovely. Food in restaurant was very good but the waiting service was poor. "Here to help" it was not.
I would visit again but would hope for better service given this hotel is not cheap.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the Penthouse rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne_2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just come back from a truly lovely one night stay at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel and it was everything if not more than we hoped it would be! A really luxurious room with a free standing bath (one of the best things a hotel can have!), lots of lovely toiletries and a really comfy bed. It felt like every detail had been thought about, lovely towelling robes, tea & coffee facilities and really clean. It's not often that I come away from a hotel room without having something negative to say but here I really couldn't think of anything bad! We had dinner in the restaurant which again was really nice but maybe a bit overdone with the drizzles of oil - also one other minor complaint is that the wine list is rather pricey but really that is me being picky! We came to check out the hotel as we are coming back in June and wanted to know that it was good enough to recommend to friends and family and it sure is!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews