We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a gorgeous hotel! Wonderful staff we were greeted as if we were old friends, we booked "a little spring treat" in a sail loft room which was beautiful, would have upgraded to a marina view but couldn't find the option on website?, maybe should have booked over the phone. Food was really lovely and well presented. Car park is tricky but we didn't have to worry as the car was parked and ready on the road for us the following morning wonderful! No negatives just wish I had upgraded to room with a view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    309
    86
    34
    15
See reviews for
110
793
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was exceptional and all it was cracked up to be in the advert. Paid the extra for a view of the marina and worth every penny. Had so many disappointing experiences over the years with poor quality amenities in so called luxury hotels that this was a pleasant surprise. Friendly helpful staff and excellent food in the restaurant. Bath and shower in a very large bathroom/wet room.

Room Tip: Go for the view, it's an extra £40.00 per night but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxophone_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

just happened to stay there for 3 nights when I'm on the business trip in nearby town. This is one of the best property almost comparable to resorts from service, quality, decor, and rooms. Food was great with stupendous variety. I believe Ipswich and above description makes sense. In reality it was great not far from Ipswich city center where some good restaurants (it looks like town is going through revitalization).3 or 4 restaurants including bar next door not a bad palcce

The best part Bay view or I got interior view which was also great. It's Bed+Breakfast

Room Tip: ask for Balcony room which has great view of the bay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKU1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked through 'Great Escapes'. Thought we might be in a more inferior room due to the discount!---but not so. The room was large and comfortable and the complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits, excellent and so nice to have a cafetiere. There was no stinting with anything.The staff could not have been more helpful. DO book somewhere to eat for the evening beforehand. We arrived at three and all the best eateries along the marina were full. Luckily for us, there was a cancellation and we were informed immediately. Really liked the decor.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Great to have a view of the marina ( which we did). DO book somewhere to eat before going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurant is an ideal venue for a business lunch or meal for two. This hotel brings a touch of class to this vibrant area of Ipswich Waterfront. The staff are most helpful and offer a quality service.

Room Tip: It's busy so book first to be sure of the view. Plan ahead if you need to park a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a three night stay via Telegraph Travel Hand-picked. Must say everything went like clockwork from booking to arriving.
Hotel staff very friendly and efficient. Only downside was it was a special price, so we had a room on the side with partial view of some of the harbour. But for the price we paid we were okay about it. Food was good, room good size, bed comfy.
If you had to stay in Ipswich I think the position of this hotel is the best you would probably get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour. Front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April-illy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Public rooms were good and our standard bedroom was a decent size and comfortable, but paintwork was tired, curtains were torn and the bath tap cover kept falling off. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the service first class, but breakfast was not up to scratch. There was a very poor choice of cereals. They had run out of muesli (we were told this in a very offhand manner with no apology). Otherwise all very friendly and efficient and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Although only a standard room and we were offered a quayside room at a supplement, the side window s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidbowsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing