We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for an anniversary treat with my Girlfriend and was truly impressed with the service and the stunning room and view we had from the Marina room, we decided to stay on for an extra night. We did not want to leave such was the quality of the hotel and surrounding pubs and we can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
There are newer reviews for Salthouse Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a great room rate. £130 for the starry night package which included breakfast and a bottle of fix. The service was attentive and friendly. We ordered room service which was faultless, the breakfast was to die for and overall this hotel exceeded my expectations. Lovely setting on the harbour too. We had French windows which were lovely. I cant recommend this place enough. Oh and cafetiere in the bedroom!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambarpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Salthouse Harbour Hotel is without doubt one of my favourite hotels. Everytime I stay here I'm impressed. The waterfront has a real buzz about it and this hotel holds court slap bang in the middle. High end design, excellent food, great views (book front facing rooms) and a young friendly staff team. Front of house never "sniffy" like some places, and a really fashionable place to eat, drink and socialise. Room rates are good value and the Suffolk breakfast not to be missed.
Thanks again guys,
Simon Keeley

Room Tip: Front facing rooms where you enjoy a lovely harbour view. Higher floors better and quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a one night break here with family. We booked standard rooms which were perfect and spotlessly clean. All staff were pleasant, attentive and gave top notch customer service. The decor of the hotel is focused around lots of quirky art which gives a great boutique hotel feel. The breakfast was great - lots of choice, and my eggs benedict was the best I've ever had. We booked the pre christmas starry night deal, which I thought was excellent value for money. Nice to have fast free wifi for guests too!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank BerkshireRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Loved it, the food was great, service attentive and decor lovely, would definitely go back and might even stay... Keep it up, the only negative is that there isn't a taster menu so I could try more of their food.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianew317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Love the quirky style of this boutique hotel, very comfortable rooms done to a high spec. Service was great and I love being able to breakfast in your room at no extra cost. Ate twice in the restaurant and staff were knowledgeable about the food and the food was really good made with fresh ingredients to order.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSwifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at University Campus Suffolk (1 min away) & enjoyed every minute. We only ate breakfast here so I can't comment on other meals but the breakfast was cooked to order & there was a great choice. Eggs Benedict, full English as well as lighter options - all yummy! The rooms are spacious with big bathrooms & nice tolietries as well as fresh coffee etc. Add in helpful & cheerful staff & it's hard to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
506 reviews
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
850 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: $145 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing