We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Shame about the noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a lovely hotel that goes a bit further with it's unusual decor and peices of art. Service was excellent, we were offered an upgrade on arrival which we took, the rooms are very clean and modern especailly the bathroom with it's glass wall so you can view the harbour from the giant bath tub if you wish. Gorgeous spa bath products included.
The only area that stopped this hotel getting a 5 was the disturbed sleep, we were assured of a quiet room but unfortunately there was a loud party on a boat in the harbour below, this was out of control of the hotel but we were switched back to our original room which turned out just as nice but without balcony. There were a few people complaining and one excuse given was " this is to be expected in the centre of town", I dont believe we were actually in the town centre, we have also stayed at sister hotel, The Angel in Bury and that was more central but a lot quieter. We suggest that when booking guests are actaully told that there could be live bands playing below and also private parties held on the boats, this can be acceptable to people if they understand the situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    302
    84
    34
    14
See reviews for
106
776
30
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I love this hotel. Have stayed several times on business and wanted my wife to experience it. Rooms are fantastic, especially the ones with a view. A few gripes, the evening meal was disappointing; sounded nice but quality average. Breakfast, meals on several occasions went to 2 or even 3 tables before they found the right one. Also, we had to ring reception twice for everything - very pleasant and willing, but just forgetful I guess. Also, there is no separate bar in the hotel. For all those gripes, I still love this hotel and will return many times I'm sure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CheneyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate a late lunch after seeing a show in Ipswich. First impression was fab, very modern hotel & restaurant decor was interesting with pieces of art hanging in all corners of the building, location was lovely sat on the water. Would love to go back in the summer. We were very welcomed and served immediately, great selection on the menu all reasonably priced. All 4 of us opted for the set 3 courses, only negative comment we all had was that we managed to finish all 3 courses and my husband was still eyeing up the pizza places on way home! Food was very tasty and service excellent we will be returning to stay at the hotel. 100% recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank danielle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at the Salthouse for one night and had a truly memorable experience.
On arrival at the hotel, staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, Had a double room with fantastic views overlooking the marina. The room was extremely spacious and tastefully decorated.
We booked into the restaurant and this was out only disappointment despite having researched it and reading great reviews. My partner had scallops for starters and these were nice, I choose roasted fig with chicory and walnut and Stilton salad. The figs was tasteless and we could not find any Stilton in the salad. For main I ordered duck, which looked and tasted more like liver, it was not nice at all. My partners lamb chops were very fatty and bland, We ordered a side dish of selection of green vegetable and got a bowl of green cabbage.
We informed the staff who were very apologetic.
Great selection of wine to choose from.
After dinner we went to the bar for a drink however the bar area is very small and there was no where to sit.
Breakfast in the morning was bought to our room at no extra charge which was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

On Ipswich waterfront this hotel is a lovely place to stay!!! we stayed in one of the rooms with a copper bath over looking the harbour very romantic!!! All the staff were so lovely and the boutique restaurant serves wonderful food and a fantastic selection at breakfast too!.....There is free car parking but get there early as it gets very busy at the weekends and the car park is small!!!ll loved the luxury toiletries and the fine art dotted around the hotel next time you're in Ipswich go you wont be disappointed!!!! Have a wonderful weekend :-)

Room Tip: ask for a room that over looks the harbour with a copper bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were exoecting great things from The Salthouse as we have stayed several times at the sister hotel, The Angel, in Bury St Edmunds and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. First impressions of The Salthouse did not disappoint! The location is lovely, especially on a clear sunny day with views of Neptune Marina. The spacious reception area with sofa and interesting objects is an excellent space for a drink or two as is the sitting area outside. A problem with our key card, which didn't work, was our first blip, one of us had to go back down and get it sorted, not a good start. Fortunately a new keycard did the trick. The room had a great view of the Marina but the window was rather small and the room was a bit on the narrow side and hot.
The bathroom was fine altho the shower door was a bit tricky and I had a slight panicky moment when I thought I would be stuck in there for ever! The Salthouse isn't cheap and I think that a wobbly desk, a non-functioning table lamp and a small table fan on a very hot day is poor value for money. Plus I had to ask for more milk, only 4 very small cartons provided, milk is like gold dust in hotels ! The receptionist sent up a jug of it so well done there!
We sat outside in the evening enjoying a drink in the lovely view and then went in to dinner.
The dinner was a curate's egg really, FAB bottle of wine but my husband declared his Dedham Vale beef "dry and tasteless ', I enjoyed my veggie platter but I wasn't so sure about the battered samphire ! The home made ice cream was tasty but already melting when we got it!

We enjoyed our stay, which was a Special Offer including an evening meal and a bottle of wine,
but felt that The Salthouse was not as good as it could have been, and once they start paying a little more attention to detail they could be as good as The Angel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Marina although it can be a bit noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of the very few places we've stayed where nothing could be faulted.
Booked for a Friday evening, upgraded from a standard harbour view to a Loft House room with copper bath, air con (which we did actually need as it was very hot!), balcony overlooking harbour. Flat screen tv's, huge bed - and ipod docking stations.
No parking when we arrived but receptionist arranged for our car to be parked for us, no problem at all.
Room fantastic. Very clean, brilliant views, good decor. Amazingly comfortable bed/pillows. Fab wet room and good toiletries provided.
Ate in the restaurant, again - everything was excellent. Food, service - top class.
The staff are extremely polite, helpful, efficient - and actually like their jobs!! We spoke to quite a few, who said it was a good place to work and the 'in/trendy' place to be - all of them very happy to be there...
Would definitely stay again if in the area, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea loft, harbour view room with balcony. Views are amazing, especially with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing