We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great - all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of the very few places we've stayed where nothing could be faulted.
Booked for a Friday evening, upgraded from a standard harbour view to a Loft House room with copper bath, air con (which we did actually need as it was very hot!), balcony overlooking harbour. Flat screen tv's, huge bed - and ipod docking stations.
No parking when we arrived but receptionist arranged for our car to be parked for us, no problem at all.
Room fantastic. Very clean, brilliant views, good decor. Amazingly comfortable bed/pillows. Fab wet room and good toiletries provided.
Ate in the restaurant, again - everything was excellent. Food, service - top class.
The staff are extremely polite, helpful, efficient - and actually like their jobs!! We spoke to quite a few, who said it was a good place to work and the 'in/trendy' place to be - all of them very happy to be there...
Would definitely stay again if in the area, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea loft, harbour view room with balcony. Views are amazing, especially with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    302
    84
    34
    14
See reviews for
106
776
30
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for a night back in January and hadn't gotten around to writing a review. The night away was a Birthday Treat and I loved every minute of it. The hotel room was lovely with a large bed, comfy chairs, desk, quirky decorations, built in closet, widescreen t.v and a beautiful, spacious bathroom. I would happily move in to this Hotel if I won the lottery as it was near to perfect. The bed was comfy, the room immaculate (I'm a bit of a germaphobe) apart from slight scuff marks on one wall there was no sign of wear and tear, the bathroom was gorgeous complete with a power shower, lovely deep tub, heated floors, bath robes and toiletries and the built in closet held complimentary tea's and biscuits.
Our booking came with a £60 allocation for food so we dined in the restaurant which is also decorated incredibly beautifully, I couldn't stop looking around the room! We were seated near a large window with a view of the Harbour and all of the lovely, no doubt expensive yachts. Although the restaurant was relatively quiet, the lighting and mood was relaxed and romantic! The waitresses taking our order noticed I was deliberating over what to get so further explained each dish, helping me make my decision. We had a lovely shared starter and then steak and pork belly for main course - all of which were delicious and presented well, very impressed which is a hard task as both myself and my other half are chefs. Apart from a slightly lengthy wait for our bill I have nothing to complain about! We ordered room service later in the evening which was brought to our room incredibly quickly, and then in the morning had a full breakfast also.
I'll finish my rambling here by adding that I'm about to book a room again, and that the receptionist (if my memory serves me right she had a dark bob) is a credit to you. Not only did she offer a friendly, warm welcome but she answered any questions and in the morning, when my other half wasn't feeling his best offered a complimentary drink for the road and wished us a safe journey home.

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of our room, but both myself and my parents have stayed there and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend away, we both absolutely loved the hotel. Honestly one of the best I have stayed in, staff are friendly and attentive, couldn't do more for the guests. We arrived late afternoon and there wasn't any spaces left in the car park, before we had chance to look else where, we were welcomed to the hotel by a helpful member of staff who took the keys and parked up the car in a nearby car park (hotel paying for space) until there was room. Hotel itself is quirky and unique, from glowing bunnies in the reception to a pearl draped knight. The room was lovely, perfect touches, comfy bed, big tv and seperate bath and shower. We ate dinner in the restaurant - delicious. The next morning we had breakfast delivered to the room (no extra cost) beautiful. I want to move in. :) perfect perfect perfect. Thank you for a memorable weekend!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brogan88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My second visit to Salthouse Harbour and it is excellent in every way - staff courteous, hotel clean and very well appointed - bedrooms very comfortable and breakfast superb. Cannot wait to visit again. Really nice touch from Hotel to leave card in rooms saying 'Welcome back'!

Room Tip: We had rooms 106 and 304 and 106 overlooks harbour and also side view from hotel - really superb to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Husband and I stayed here for one night as a little getaway, to celebrate our fifth anniversary. From the moment we arrived the service was exemplary, and the room (we were offered a marina view upgrade when we checked in) was spacious, comfortable and stunning, even without the wonderful view. Gorgeous roll top bath was a real treat. Dinner and breakfast were delicious! Thank you for a marvelous break =0)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notbeenhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fab boutique style hotel. Large room, huge bed. Great view of Marina. Wonderfully efficient staff and delicious breakfast. I travel around the UK and stay in hotels regularly with work and I can honestly say that this is the best hotel I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Erin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here recently on the recommendation from this hotels sister hotel the Angel in Bury St Edmunds.
The weather was so lovely when we arrived for a one night stay 23/08, our room wasn't ready but we asked about an upgrade to a harbour view and we got one for an extra £40.00, well worth the extra !!!! We returned just after 2 and went to our room, WOW, the harbour views were amazing as was the room,we were so sorry we were only staying one night !!!!! A freestanding copper bath in our room with views of the harbour .
We told the staff we had stayed at the Angel and they had a lot to live up to.
This hotel does not disappoint and while we preferred the modern twist on this hotel it would be churlish to try and compare the two, both fantastic in their own right !!!!
Breakfast was cooked to order and also did not disappoint ,the service was quick and professional even though they were really busy.
The hotel is in a lively area and you can walk around the harbour & you are quite spoilt where to stop for a drink or something to eat.

I was a bit torn to write this review as it is a fantastic find and we will not hesitate to go back as soon as we can but do we really want to share this? just in case there is no room the next time we want to visit !!!!!


Perfect perfect night, thanks to all the lovely staff at this perfect hotel !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing