We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag in Ipswich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A mixed bag in Ipswich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed here for two nights while visiting relatives in Suffolk. We chose one of the Sail Loft rooms without the view of the marina (marina views cost an extra £50 per night, which we felt would have been wasted on this trip since we were hardly ever in the room during the day to enjoy the view).

The hotel is right on the waterfront of the marina in Ipswich - the main building is a converted warehouse. The conversion is very good, producing a thoroughly modern hotel within a historic building. Our room was very spacious, with an equally spacious bathroom containing a bath and a large shower. The bed was an excellent king size and very comfortable.

Breakfast is excellent - not to be missed, with a wide selection of dishes on offer. The "full Suffolk" breakfast features superb bacon and sausages. The apple juice is excellent.

There are a few downsides. First, the Ipswich marina area is still a "work in progress", with a lot of building sites and derelict land, so it isn't the most scenic part of the town. It is also a noisy area - the pub next door was raucous until quite late on Saturday night, plus the presence of the University further along the marina meant groups of students whooping and shouting past the hotel in the wee hours. The hotel also has a problem with parking - simply not enough of it - meaning that some cars are driven to an overspill car park (by the staff) a little distance from the hotel. It is not clear how secure this car park is. Finally, the decor of the public areas is, let's say, "eclectic" - certainly not to my tastes - it has the feeling of a place trying to hard to be "hip".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    303
    84
    34
    15
See reviews for
106
778
30
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Came down to Ipswich for one night on work trip and my wife and I were put up in this lovely hotel down by the marina. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the hotel's former existence as a warehouse has been comfortably accommodated into the interior design. Some of the art is a little self conscious, but having said that, it is stylish and tasteful. The young staff in reception and the restaurant are extremely natural, friendly and obliging, we couldn't fault them at all. Breakfast very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner in the Eaterie. In fact our main course was extremely tasty and one of our highlight meals of the year to date.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whosaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Spent just 1 night at the Salthouse recently for a quick weekend break and loved it. The hotel is in a great location, right on the water front. We managed to get a harbour view room which was great, though the room was a little small, but it is a converted dockhouse so it was full of charm and character.

Breakfast was amazing with freshly squeezed juice and a simply bril full English breakfast with chunky toast.

All in a lovely relaxing stay with friendly staff will defiantly return some day....loved it!

Room Tip: Try the bar next door with a great open courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnCowan, General Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear guest

Thank you for your review, in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased that you both had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed the whole hotel experience.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Great location, spacious rooms, design of the furniture is beautiful, staff is friendly. Hotel located right in front of the harbour. Not much to do in Ipswich but at least if you go there for business and your company allows it, then stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank massou_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I absolutely love this hotel....a night away from the kids in total luxury. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the restaurant is amazing and its waterfront position is lovely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. The hotel often has special offers with regard to eating...its dine and recline package is very good value for money. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Splash out on a front facing room!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank minijudithfromleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed for two nights 24/25 Aprii 2011, had a marina veiw with balcony DBB.Room and bathroom were immaculatea, nice touch free bottled water, breakfast served at your table, no rushing to the buffet,a very comprehensive menu, dinner was excellent with a very good choice of meat fish and poultry, all the staff were delightful . It would be nice if they had a few more tables and chairs on the pavement but I suppose governed by local authority

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rallihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I just read my wife's review and I must say she has nailed it. This is a very clean, beautiful hotel situated overlooking Ipswich marina. We had a room on the third floor with a copper bath in the middle of the room and french doors that open up with a great view of the boats in the marina. The Hotel is surrounded by a pub, eateries, including a interesting looking restaurant on a boat and a short 5 minute walk to a Pizza Express. Why am I talking about other eateries when the hotel has a restaurant? Well that is the one problem with the stay here. The evening meal that was part of the package was not of a great quality. The options were too fancy for my tastes, although the aspargus on toast with poached egg was gorgeous, but the steak was not a great cut and also not that well cooked. Breakfast is absolutely fine, but some small issues, no preserves on our table, little milk etc. Service and everything from the young staff is spot on, friendly and helpful.

Back to the hotel and room, everything is just right, although I would still question the overall cost and value for money, you cannot fault the room we had - massive bed, very romantic sharing a bath with my wife with the french doors open and viewing the marina. If you want that romantic night away, then this is a good hotel in a pleasant location, well presented, clean and quiet. Car parking is available next to the hotel, but seemed a bit limited for the potential number of guests. I thank my wife for treating me to a stay here, however I am certain there are more romantic places to stay and possibly at a better value for money. Room only seems expensive, the recline and dine makes it better value, but in my mind there is a risk with the food, maybe we were unlucky with our food choices on the night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing