We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - well done that man!!”
Review of henley cross keys - CLOSED

henley cross keys
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic - well done that man!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This pub was shown on a website as just re-opened by a friend and we tried it 12th Feb 2014 on a cold and windy Tuesday afternoon - the warm welcome made up for the cold outside.
Very friendly and a log fire to greet us and a 2 course lunch for £10 - fantastic value.

The food was lovely and great value for money - the menu was slightly different to most local pubs but the quality and portions excelled.

This pub is well worth a visit and one we shall certainly be returning to in the near future.

Please please give this local pub a try - you will not be disappointed _PROMISE!

They even allowed my dog in as well which is a big plus from me!!

These guys deserve to succeed - dont let this local pub fail !

Cheers guys - Keith and guestsx

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great pub!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great place to drink,eat and socalise. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Fantastic value on their home cooked meals. A few minutes outside of Ipswich. You must visit!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GotToBeGoodForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just had lunch here and the food was fantastic...homely foods great price and get a great portion! Will defo be returning and spreading the word service was great too, so welcoming

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davey841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent Sunday roast .. counted about 9 varieties of veg on my plate. Wonderful Yorkshire pud and extremely friendly hosts. Tasted like home cooking. Beautiful variety of desserts if you had room for them. Afterwards a walk along footpaths to Hemingstone and back made for a delightful afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AudreyJanyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Decided to try here for lunch as new owners and heard good things about the place.

Not a bad selection on the menu and even a couple of veggie options.

I didnt have a starter, but my dad had the prawn/crayfish cocktail which was a good size with a nice mix of prawns/crayfish. Very enjoyable he said.
He then had the wild boar sausage and mash, the sausages were huge and he ate the lot. I had some veggie stew thingie, which was a nice flavour, just wish I liked carrots and swede.

The owners are very nice, friendly and helpful, prices reasonable. You do wait a little while for the food, but thats due to the fact its freshly cooked and not ping food. The pub has been redecorated and is kept very clean.

It is definetly worth giving this place a try, we will be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed henley cross keys also viewed

Tuddenham, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing