We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of henley cross keys - CLOSED

henley cross keys
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent Sunday roast .. counted about 9 varieties of veg on my plate. Wonderful Yorkshire pud and extremely friendly hosts. Tasted like home cooking. Beautiful variety of desserts if you had room for them. Afterwards a walk along footpaths to Hemingstone and back made for a delightful afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AudreyJanyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Decided to try here for lunch as new owners and heard good things about the place.

Not a bad selection on the menu and even a couple of veggie options.

I didnt have a starter, but my dad had the prawn/crayfish cocktail which was a good size with a nice mix of prawns/crayfish. Very enjoyable he said.
He then had the wild boar sausage and mash, the sausages were huge and he ate the lot. I had some veggie stew thingie, which was a nice flavour, just wish I liked carrots and swede.

The owners are very nice, friendly and helpful, prices reasonable. You do wait a little while for the food, but thats due to the fact its freshly cooked and not ping food. The pub has been redecorated and is kept very clean.

It is definetly worth giving this place a try, we will be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After finding out Roy had taken over this pub we called here on 20th Dec for a evening meal , he has done a great job redecorating very cosy with a roaring log fire and great xmas tree.
The menu was good with a specials board at great prices and when our meal came it was lovely , great service,great food,all round very pleasant experience will now be a firm favorite for repeat visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You need to try it”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We called in on the off chance as we googled pubs with an open fire. Pleasently surprised, very good food, & Roy the landlord was very friendly. We had also been looking for somewhere to eat for a family christmas meal & they did a fixed menu. Rang round the family & immediately booked for the following week. Hope the 2nd visit is as good as the first.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treat yourselves!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited the Cross Keys on Saturday lunchtime (7 December) with a little trepidation. We had heard it had recently opened under new management and had been refurbished, but thoughts of it's past history were in our minds. What a very pleasant surprise we had. It was clean and bright and a lovely open fire welcomed us into the lounge. The food was reasonably priced and home cooked. Whitebait and butternut squash soup for starters, veggie lasagne, gammon with all the trimmings and wild boar sausages and mash were for main. I wanted to leave room for the black forest trifle and it didn't disappoint. Mmmmm!!!! The owner was very friendly and made us feel welcome. We will certainly be paying another visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed henley cross keys also viewed

Tuddenham, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing