We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Cozy little retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach to Souters and Gribbles. Souters bathed in sunlight is also surrounded by woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
The approach to Souters and Gribbles.
Souters bathed in sunlight is also surrounded by woodland.
Gribbles nestles in a corner of Souters garden.
The terrace, complete with wood fired pizza oven is perfect for al fresco eating.
Souters has a well equipped kitchen.
Souters living space has a cool and airy feel during the summer.
During the colder months the wood burner makes for cosy evenings.
The bedroom window looks out onto a bank of wild flowers.
Souters has a very comfortable bedroom.
The power shower with loads of hot water.
Gribbles is about 20m from Souters, tucked into a corner of the garden.
Gribbles has a full size double bed with a pull out truckle bed beneath.
Gribbles has en suite facilities with floor heating, WC, basin, large shower and heated towel rail.
Foxgloves in the woodland round Souters garden
Bluebells in Souters woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lushp
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Cozy little retreat”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This would have been a 5 star but for me the bed is just too hard. Otherwise I can not rate this little find high enough. It had everything. The kitchen has everything you need , pots pans utensils glasses bowls plates cork screw bottle opener etc . The garden if weather good has a lovely grassed area a little patio and the Pizza Oven ! £5 for the wood to burn and you are away . Recipe book to make the dough and tons of toppings. Inside if you need it there is a Log burner but to be honest the underfloor heating once at the temperature you like is plenty but if you want to add to the romantic feel put it on . We bought our two large dogs along and they had a great time in the field just up round the corner so it really does have everything.
It can be a quiet retreat for two or you can sleep 6 . Two on sofa bed and two in the Shepherds hut in the garden. Lovely area , nice and quiet , walks nearby and cycling nice and safe on country lanes.
Icing for me was on arrival Cath had made a lovely chocolate and banana cake , put milk in the fridge and tea and coffee already there. Both Nick and Cath are lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
Very very enjoyable stay . Like I said 5 stars for everything but for me in particular the bed just let it down slightly. For someone else how likes a firm bed 5 stars all the way

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonbak...
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful surroundings, perfect for the pooch..”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Delightful place, perfect for complete privacy and loads of space for the dog to run around. All your self-catering needs taken care of, plenty of space inside the delightful cottage and if you get a chance, make the most of the pizza oven and bbq. Close to beautiful villages and amenities, well stocked farm shop close by too. Cannot wait to come back in the spring.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terryandr...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oustanding accomodation”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myself and a friend stayed at Souters and Gribbles for a week in July. We were given a really warm welcome by Cath, who had also prepared an orange and chocolate marble cake for our arrival, which was delicious.
The barn is a very comfortable and well equipped accommodation and when coupled with Gribbles made ideal accommodation not only for us both but we were also able to invite a guest to stay on the sofa bed for a night in Souters.
This really is 5 star accommodation situated in a stunning setting. Perfect for the get away from it all relaxed break, but also surrounded by some wonderful sights and daytrips, of which Flatford Mill is a must.
Our thanks to both Cath and Nick for a memorable stay and we look forward to a return visit next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAskewF...
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Countryside family and dog paradise”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful setting amidst countryside. Peaceful, well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely hosts, friendly and welcoming. Perfect for our family of 4 plus two dogs. Enjoyed using pizza oven and off lead dogs walks and den building in the woods. Looking forward to visiting again in different seasons. Thank you, thank you, thank you xXx

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slanda666
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A fantastic property in a fantastic location.
What more could you want? How about a freshly baked cake provided on arrival and fresh flowers in every room - you get that too!
Also it proved to be just about the most dog friendly accomodation we've encountered in the past couple of years. There is access to a large field for the dogs to run in (an acre or so) just five minutes walk away.
The location is very much off the beaten track but, thanks to the directions provided, was quite easy to find.
Nick and Cath were wonderful hosts and we look forward to seeing them again.
We've already made a booking for 2018!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee D
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A lovely weekend in a relaxing rural setting. The barn is cosy made very homely by the wood burner which works well with the heat and the whole cosy feel. Everywhere was clean and tidy. I will definitely return

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing