We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place in a beautiful setting...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach to Souters and Gribbles. Souters bathed in sunlight is also surrounded by woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
123 reviews
The approach to Souters and Gribbles.
Souters bathed in sunlight is also surrounded by woodland.
Gribbles nestles in a corner of Souters garden.
The terrace, complete with wood fired pizza oven is perfect for al fresco eating.
Souters has a well equipped kitchen.
Souters living space has a cool and airy feel during the summer.
During the colder months the wood burner makes for cosy evenings.
The bedroom window looks out onto a bank of wild flowers.
Souters has a very comfortable bedroom.
The power shower with loads of hot water.
Gribbles is about 20m from Souters, tucked into a corner of the garden.
Gribbles has a full size double bed with a pull out truckle bed beneath.
Gribbles has en suite facilities with floor heating, WC, basin, large shower and heated towel rail.
Foxgloves in the woodland round Souters garden
Bluebells in Souters woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 123 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Paul M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful place in a beautiful setting... Perfect”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had the pleasure of staying in Souters on Valentines weekend. Apart from wanting to get away and have some time together we were in need of a bit of peace and quiet and Nick and Cath made us feel very welcome and have created a wonderful little place to find just that. We loved it. The area is fantastic, you can walk to the pub or the river which is a stones throw from your door. We will be back and its gonna become a favourite of ours in no time.

Perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical home from home! :)”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The most wonderful, quaint living space. After a long week at work we couldn't have asked for more! All the 'little things' that this Family provide really do make it extra special, of course a beautiful layout, but the cake, milk and homemade candles were top notch!
My partner and I had a fantastic weekend at Souters! Nick and Cath were so welcoming and kind, providing lots of information and friendly chat! The area and surrounding villages are beautiful, we enjoyed long walks and nearby Dedham had the lovliest pubs with great beer and friendly people! :)
Cannot wait to return in the summer to really make the most of the outdoor space! :) x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy and comforting it was and being in the woods!
Liked least: only staying 2 nights - we wanted to stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee J
buntingford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the woods”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Fab-u-lous a beautiful lodge in the woods. Peaceful and tranquil a true lovers hideaway for the young or mature couple still young at heart. Perfect for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of work or family chaos. The lodge has all the home comforts you could ever want and a scrumptious cake made by the hosts to greet you. Plenty of places to eat out if you chose or stay in for a romantic meal and watch the sun go down. Leave the kids with gran but take the dog for a rest too he could probably do with it and is much less demanding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cake
Liked least: feather pillows/duvet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenbis
1 review
“A lovely place to stay, there was not one thing wrong with the stay.”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a great time, just what we needed the place was so clean and had a great feel to it. We viewed the area then come back and put the fire on and just chilled. We would return at any time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparklegl...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful property and great location”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed at Souters for New Year and some much needed relaxation.
We were delighted with all that Souters had to offer us and Nick and Cath the owners were very welcoming.The cottage is finished to a very high standard including the underfloor heating and log burning stove which we always look for in a winter property hire.The surrounding area was very beautiful and we went for many walks.The cottage is also very close to local villages where you will find a great selection of gastro pubs. The choice was endless!
We're already planning our second trip and are looking forward to renting out the shepherds hut next time too! We had a look around the hut and Nick has created a great living space. The hut even has its own toilet and shower room! We would highly recommend staying at Souters!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the cottage and high interior spec
Liked least: The double bed was a bit small for us but it would't put us off a return visit
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni c
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation in idyllic location, fully recommend!”
Reviewed December 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My Husband, my pooch and I stayed here for a long weekend just before Christmas, what a place to get you in the Christmas spirit!
The barn is beautifully restored and decorated, the rustic character and charm really makes it feel special. The grounds around the cottage are perfect for families and four legged guests, there is a formal paved area, somewhere to eat al fresco and a big grassed area to run around. On a lazy day you wouldn't even need to venture out to have a great time! But if you do... wow! The area is full of beautiful landscapes and quaint rural villages that are the perfect settings for walking and exploring. Flatford is lovely and very dog friendly, the Dedham to Flatford walk long the River Stour is a must and nearby Colchester is great for history fans (check out highwood country park and castle park too).
I cant recommend Souters highly enough, now we have found it we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and attention to detail of the barn
Liked least: Im not a huge fan of feather duvets and pillows but that is just me. My husband loved them and found it hard to get up!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevinlewi...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Booked this for myself and my partner for a couple of peaceful days away, it was absolutely perfect in every way, the owners nick and cath are very friendly and helpful and Cath's homemade scones were delicious. The accommodation was light, airy and very cosy especially when the log burner was fired up, in the barn there is everything you need to self cater. The only downside for us was that we were not there for longer than 2 nights! Would highly recommend Souters for a peacefull getaway in the country. We will definitely be booking to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing