We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and down”
Review of Beefeater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Beefeater
Ranked #327 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Up and down”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate in this restaurant on 2 nights, having travelled extensively during both days during our trip. My meals on both nights were good. sadly my wife's steak, although very well cooked, was of diabolically poor quality. When you have a problem, it is how it is dealt with that gives the final impression. In this respect, the waitress and the duty manager were both brilliant. Having eaten almost half of the meal, my wife declined their offers of replacing the meal, as she was too full. The manager then offered suitable compensation as far as my wife was concerned. Next night, my wife's meal was absolutely superb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ribs and burgers”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a very nice family meal there recently. Service was good and food was tasty and well presented. Good selection of beers and soft drinks behind the bar.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KieranC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Beefeater let down”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Usually I quite enjoy a Beefeater visit as a Premier Inn tied restaurant but not this one.
The interior is pleasent and waiting staff friendly but who runs the kitchen? The food was often overcooked and bland, the delicious potato dauphonaise is no longer on the menu and numerous options we were pre-warned were unavailable. My choice was additionally not available so I changed meat and insisted i still wanted potato AND vegetables. When the food arrived just a plate of ribs and boiled spuds I was told you cannot have vegetables with ribs!
I assume the chef was just to lazy to give the customer what he wanted. Also two nights running it was a bit of an ordeal trying to pay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Visited on 26th september at 7.00pm.
Apparently a new menu had been in operation for a few days giving better value for money.
There were four in our party. Three of us had mixed grills the other was rump steak. Although the plates were well filled , the gammon, steak , chicken and chips on all the plates were not hot. All the steaks were tough and not good eating. We complained to our o.t.t. over friendly waiter who said he would get the manageress to see us. This did not happen until it came to paying the bill. Excuse for the cold food was due to new menu !! How new is a mixed grill ? It had an extra sausage and an egg from the previous menu !
Apparently the chefs were getting used to the new menu and had not got the timing of the individual items correct !!
The manageress agreed she would credit us for two meals which was agreable to us. Heard complaints from three other tables while we we there.
Overall nice surroundings , poor food and an annoying waiter. Not everyone likes being addressed as "GUYS". There was 2 males and 2 females in our party.
Typically Beefeater service, menu and decor.
Not particularly good value for money at normal full prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarnbyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Went early Satuday evening, just after 5.oopm
Service a bit slow, considering restaurant not that busy when we first arrived.
The food was very good, hot and well presented.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank H61R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beefeater also viewed

 

Been to Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing