We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find ... a great travelodge and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have just arrived back home from a 3 night stay at this Travelodge in capel st mary Ipswich and cant praise it enough. The rooms have been tasteful furnished and we had an excellent comfortable king size bed spacious, and very clean. I know that the rooms have had a refurbishment in October but you can tell the staff are doing their very best to keep it this way. Just hope the visitors who use this Travelodge will keep up the standards. The staff are very friendly and nothing is any trouble to them. The travelodge is next door to a Starbucks coffee shop so you can get your bacon sandwiches, coffee etc if you feel like having a breakfast before you do any site seeing. The capel st Mary is an ideal place for visiting Ipswich and surrounding areas. Recommend a visit to Snape maltings, and Dedham , etc. I don't think you will get anything cheaper to stay than this Travelodge. This Travelodge is certainly not cheap on the quality of the stay you will obtain regarding the value and the cleanliness of the rooms. . The week before we stayed at the Peterborough Days Inn it was three times the price of the stay of this Travelodge but not a patch on the way the bedrooms were cleaned.
Well done to this Travelodge at Capel St Mary we will be coming back again. No hesitation in recommending this Travelodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have nothing but praise for this hotel, they deserve an award for going the extra mile! We were travelling from Great Yarmouth to North Kent recently and our car broke down when we pulled into the service station adjacent to the hotel. It was about 8pm and on the advice of the AA, we left the car to be fixed until morning and decided to check in to the Travelodge. The chap on reception - Moucha (probably spelt wrong, sorry!) - was so nice and friendly, and went out of his way to do all he could for us. My partner had just come out of hospital, which we explained to him, and he was just so incredibly helpful. The room was a standard Travelodge room with all amenities and the bed was very comfortable, but what stood out for us was the service - absolutely first class.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Good value,as traveled with family. Had chosen this 1, as it said of having been improved beds, but unfortunately the single bed has got a very uncomfortable mattress.Triple glazing be useful for this 1

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Chrisy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent service & professional staff.Rooms are excellent & very well presented.The staff are very professional and very helpful.The hotel is easily accessible from the A12 southbound towards Colchester.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband & I have just returned from this lodge , & everything was just perfect , the only draw back was finding it , just head for Bentley Services & it's next to the garage :) the staff were very helpful , & place was very clean , & they made a dog very welcome too , ( our dog was was at home even though he was only 8 months old ) . Thank You . Pity it's so far away :(

Room Tip: " Room 10 " Excellent , very quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Most of the visit met expectations. The only quibble was that there was no detachable shower head so this made it very difficult when I just wanted to wash my hair!. I had to stick my head under the tap and use a mug to pour hot water over my hair to wet it and then rinse it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

When a hotel chain cannot be bothered to get their address and postcode right, it is a clear reflection of how much they care about their customers. Hotel is tucked away in an obscure poorly signed and lit corner on the opposite side of the motorway to that identified by the postcode on their address.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
4.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
533 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
5.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
597 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
3.6 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary

Address: South London Road, Ipswich IP9 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: $55 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary Hotel Ipswich
Travel Lodge Ipswich
Ipswich Travel Lodge
Ipswich Travelodge
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing