We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the money...”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed December 18, 2010

If you want a cheap nights stay close to town centre with just the basics then this will suit. Was bit worried with the bad reviews, but it could be worse. Yes it's cold, not much heating, steep stairs, analogue tv, just a blanket on bed, but for the price and location what do you expect?? Good points, parking on front, 5 mins from town, family run? Breakfast home cooked, towels and shower fine, no toiletries included. Our room had a hole in the window, they moved us to another room that was better, so that was a result. Staff freindly, think they live across the road? Reception not manned, you press a button and I think they come over. Small hotel, 22 rooms, basic, but as I say, for the price, for town centre accomodation, it's good.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

Well what can i say this hotel was an absolute disgrace, we had read these reviews before going there but thought it cant be that bad!!! BOY WERE WE WRONG!! Staff friendly enough but the hotel was dingy dirty and smelly!!!! When i got into my room i thought someone had left a duster in mky wardriobe but oooo know it was a massive pair of purple ladies knickers, quite funny really. The toilet was filthy the shower didnt work, i didnt stay for the breakfast in the morning i didnt fancy it somehow. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattvCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We booked 3 double ensuite rooms in this "hotel"for 2 nights. When we arrived we noticed on the second floor there was no window in one room at all and a man was fixing another window on same floor. We were allocated rooms on second floor which were old, dirty, dark and the stairs were dangerous. . We were actually allocated the room with the faulty windows. We complained and were given another room which we called a dungeon. We were all then moved to first floor rooms which were cleaner and brighter, but its a pity the showers would not work properly. The breakfast was ok if you like plenty of grease and oil. The only good point i could say about this place is that it is near the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basil6ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Our rooms were clean and fresh. Everything was checked daily. Toilet cleaned, bins emptied etc. The management were very welcoming and very friendly. In a fairly quiet location. 5 mins walk to town centre. Breakfast very good. All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthChadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We booked on the internet for 1night STAY. On arriving they did not have our name and said no one had looked at the internet. We were shown to a twin bedded room that was freezing cold, there was an electric heater in the room we put on to get the room warm, there was damp and paper peeling off the wall by the bed, black over the window damp on the ceiling, could not open door as it jammed on the floor and paint hanging from frame nowhere to hang towels wardrobe was 2 bits of wood with small rails the teabags had dust over them. breakfast room freezing cold as were the baked beans. I will be putting photos on please look it's no joke don't go near the place

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportscarno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

If was in Ipswich to provide holiday cover for our branch manager and needed B&B close to the shop with parking. Like most of your other reviewers, I was not impressed with the general state of the rooms or facilities. The first week, I had a ground floor room with practically no natural light and frosted single glazed windows that overlooked a carport area full of rubbish including old carpets, microwaves, furniture etc etc which should have gone to the local tip long ago. As a result, the parking area was so small that if you were to move your car during the week, you would be fortunate if you could get reparked when you returned.

The room had a wardrobe but no drawers, a sheet and bedspread but no blankets or duvet, the sink had no plug and the shower did manage to work but nowhere to hand towels and no shelf to put our toiletries etc.

TV only had basic terrestrial channels and no teletext.

For second week (I went home over the weekend thankfully), I had a marginally better room - 2 single glazed frosted windows overlooking side alley down side of hotel and at least some drawers but same problem of nowhere to hang towels. Some blankets in bottom of wardrobe if needed - it was so hot I did not need them. TV did at least have teletext but again only channels 1-5.

Breakfast reasonable.

The hotel seems to be a base for building contractors working in the town on short-term probjects and their vans dominate the limited parking available.

I have to return to Ipswich in October to provide cover once more and will not stay here again. There have got to be better equipped B&Bs somewhere nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lAKE-ENTHUSIAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

For £20.00 per night you really cant go wrong. The rooms are basic, but the bedding is clean and the full breakfast is good. Staff are friendly and helpful and it is only a 5 minutes walk into the town centre. We stayed over for a wedding last week for two nights and slept very well both nights. Off street parking and morning papers in the breakfast room were all bonuses. Remember, it is basic and if you are used to luxury, then this may not be the one for you. I'd certainly go back, after a few drinks, who cares what the room looks like!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank podders79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
589 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 41-43 Berners Street, Ipswich IP1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing