We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night when in town on business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Well, its improved compared to a year ago when I was last here. In fairness, its a perfectly acceptable place to stay for a night when you're in town on business. The rooms are clean. Everything works - although the air conditioning in my room was centrally controlled which meant the room was a bit hot and meant I left the window ajar. Not great for a ground floor room.

The bar was also fine, but we decided to venture into town for dinner rather than eat at the hotel.

Would stay again, but only because of the relative lack of options in Ipswich when travelling on a corporate rate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retsnuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 597 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have stayed there many times over the last 8 years. It's out from the city centre so not great if you don't have a car. it has a small gym and swimming pool and is one of the few in / around the centre to have this (which is one of my reasons for staying there).
I pretty much always get a decent room (albeit generally on the small side), clean and with normal business hotel facilities (but expensive Internet access).
Breakfast is not bad but I generally avoid eating there for dinner. The food is average and the service varies from poor to average.
Overall a reliable option if you want a pool / gym, don't mind being out of the city centre, and can get it at a decent rate.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
1  Thank Vandelay_Industries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

This is a good hotel, with no major problems, but there are a lot of minor problems which could easily be resolved.
The first thing I noticed and that other guests commented on was how dark the approach road is, you cannot see the sides of the roads when you are driving and it would be easy to put some white paint marks on the kerbs.
Check in was quick, but when I was directed to my room I was not told there was no lift and no information was given about breakfast, where it was served or times.
The walk to mine and other rooms seemed endless, through long narrow corridors
My room was modern, clean and comfortable with good quality furnishing and fittings. However, it was very small. This meant that it was difficult to get the temperature right, even though I had air con, a window and a radiator. The bathroom was also very small, but it was very clean, modern and well-fitted with an excellent shower.
An ironing board, trouser press and small fridge/mini bar are provided, there is a tea and coffee tray but the selection is poor and there are no biscuits. Likewise the selection of toiletries was poor.
We ate at the hotel. It was very expensive. The service was appalling, on many counts, but the food was delicious.
The breakfast was also very tasty and there was lots of choice, but some of the 'hot' food items were only lukewarm.
The hotel seems poor value for money compared to Premier Inns.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank troydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

The lesson learned when approaching the property directly is to ask the receptionist for her best rate - GBP25 below the rack rate at 4pm in the afternoon. they can assess whether the hotel will be full or not.

The room was good, if something of a walk from reception.
There is no elevator/ lift to upper floors
There does seem to be a small elevator for the disabled from the ground to the mezzanine floor.

On a very wet night the hotel bar and dining room were attractive and the food was pretty good.
The bed was comfortable and I didn't have time for breakfast.

Recommended but you might get a better price by booking ahead on something like Priceline or Expedia.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Stayed: December 2007
Thank TRAVELMARKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Athabaska_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $61 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing