We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Chantry Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good base for Chantry Park”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed for one night as a base for a concert at Chantry Park. Overall very good hotel, friendly staff good, clean standard room. Extra perks with the free newspaper, free wifi,coffee available at reception (morning only) and voucher for a free a drink at the bar was very welcome (Elite member perks). Buffet breakfast was typical of most Holiday Inns but as always very good with a new addition of the DIY freshly made pancakes maker. Did not get chance to use the on-site swimming pool (Spirit Club) but again looked nice and was busy. Overall a perfect hotel for our needs within walking distance to Chantry Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pg_deane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear pg_deane,

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you liked the concert...just a shame about the weather.

We will look forward to welcoming you again on your return.

Regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    225
    147
    41
    30
See reviews for
103
162
27
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

When we arrived it looked like most Holiday Inns, the reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was no better than a Travelodge in fact thinking about it I have stayed at better Travelodges. The Breakfast was very basic and at 8.45 the staff were getting ready for lunch and some of the buffet items had not been refilled. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear AnnKH,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased with your kind comments regarding our hotel staff.

Although I am saddened that your overall experience was not exceptional, I appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding our rooms and restaurant services. We could definitely use your feedback to improve on our end so we could provide you with a greater experience in the future. I hope you give us another chance of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

In rating this I would recommend for a stay. It just I have promised myself to rate as I see and with the logic that most places must be average. So this is a standard Holiday Inn with friendly staff and clean quite rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plaistowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear plaistowboy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad to know that you found our room and staff commendable. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ipswich.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed a Saturday night after a lovely wedding we attended locally ,just myself and hubby and had a rather pleasant stay. We had an Executive room and that was fine clean and tidy.Beds were good no real issues there. Wifi was unavailable and didnt fancy paying a fee to get it but hey ho was nice to get away from that to so not a real big deal.
Breakfast was nice and edible enough not massively hot but again was good enough for us . No major things and each to there own I guess but served our purpose and would stay there again if we had too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catz3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Catz3m,

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and we will look forwarding to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Ipswich.

Kind Regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for business meeting and a meal with a customer
Pretty decent , good wifi speed service not bad ,food as expected for this type of hotel, menu could have been better
Daniela on reception was very efficient , polite and friendly at check in
Would stay here again if in area

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Trigger,

Thank-you so much for your great review about your stay with us.

I am pleased you will book again with us when you are next in Ipswich, and I will be sure to pass on your great comments about Daniella, who I know will be delighted.

Thank-you again.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A complimentary upgrade to an executive room, which is normal practice, if available, was refused by the unfriendly and unhelpful receptionist who laughed, as if such a suggestion was ridiculous. In fact the receptionist did not appear to have any knowledge of the IHG Priority Club and the privileges appropriate to its elite members.

Impossibly slow and unusable Wi-Fi internet connection and no solution offered. Poor service at breakfast and a buffet which looked as if a herd of buffalo had stampeded through it! The rate on booking with IHG Central Reservations was £65.00 per night but the confirmation email from the hotel stated £90.00. I was told that the extra £25.00 was for the second person in the room. I pointed out that this is not IHG policy and that the room price is for 1 or 2 person occupancy. The receptionist grudgingly reduced the rate to £65.00.

There is no lift in the hotel and my wife and I had to drag our heavy bags along interminable corridors and carry them up flights of stairs, as no porter or concierge service is provided.

The status of this hotel should be reduced from a 3* Holiday Inn to a 1* Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear PhilipB,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Firstly, I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay.

Where possible, we do try to upgrade all of our Platinum members, but this is only subject to availability.

I am also sorry about the speed of the wifi, which I will be taking up with our provider.

Thank-you again.

Kind regards.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have been attending a fortnightly networking breakfast at this Holiday Inn for a little over 3 years and up to the last 4 months the service and breakfast has always been good.

I'm not sure what happened but over the last three months the services is now below average and the food! Cold bacon, undercooked sausages, the wrong type of egg being served (as in fried when scrambled was ordered) There was the time when a colleague ordered beans on toast with 2 hash browns. They got two slices of un-buttered toast, with 2 hash browns on top floating in a sea of beans. You would think as this was a) a regular event, b) the choices did not change the staff did. And the final insult they wanted to increase the charge by 60%. You will not be surprised to hear we no longer use the venue we now use the Cameo Hotel about a mile away.

So if you want a convenient hotel in Ipswich but don't care about the breakfast it may be for you - but if you want a halfway decent meal to start the day try Jo's Caff down the road.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel we used it for a breakfast networking meeting. The service deteriorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasalon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Rasalon44,

Thank-you for posting a review about your breakfast meetings.

I too am disappointed that your Breakfast Networking meetings have chosen to move hotels.

I am sure you can appreciate that your discounted breakfast rate of just £8.75 (£7.30 net of VAT) for a private meeting room and private service is not commercially viable when only 5 or 6 of your group make a reservation. This rate was initially based on the understanding that your numbers would grow; unfortunately this has not transpired.

I do try to support local businesses, and local business initiatives, and as such I was happy to offer private dining breakfast with a minimum spend, or to move your meeting to the main restaurant.

I trust this clarifies the hotel's position, and I would encourage you to take a look at the restaurant buffet breakfast, which is superb, and for which we receive consistently great feedback !! My offer still stand if you ever want to have your meeting in our restaurant.

Thank-you again, and kind regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
473 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
825 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich
Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing