We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for business meeting and a meal with a customer
Pretty decent , good wifi speed service not bad ,food as expected for this type of hotel, menu could have been better
Daniela on reception was very efficient , polite and friendly at check in
Would stay here again if in area

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Trigger,

Thank-you so much for your great review about your stay with us.

I am pleased you will book again with us when you are next in Ipswich, and I will be sure to pass on your great comments about Daniella, who I know will be delighted.

Thank-you again.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 610 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

A complimentary upgrade to an executive room, which is normal practice, if available, was refused by the unfriendly and unhelpful receptionist who laughed, as if such a suggestion was ridiculous. In fact the receptionist did not appear to have any knowledge of the IHG Priority Club and the privileges appropriate to its elite members.

Impossibly slow and unusable Wi-Fi internet connection and no solution offered. Poor service at breakfast and a buffet which looked as if a herd of buffalo had stampeded through it! The rate on booking with IHG Central Reservations was £65.00 per night but the confirmation email from the hotel stated £90.00. I was told that the extra £25.00 was for the second person in the room. I pointed out that this is not IHG policy and that the room price is for 1 or 2 person occupancy. The receptionist grudgingly reduced the rate to £65.00.

There is no lift in the hotel and my wife and I had to drag our heavy bags along interminable corridors and carry them up flights of stairs, as no porter or concierge service is provided.

The status of this hotel should be reduced from a 3* Holiday Inn to a 1* Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear PhilipB,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Firstly, I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay.

Where possible, we do try to upgrade all of our Platinum members, but this is only subject to availability.

I am also sorry about the speed of the wifi, which I will be taking up with our provider.

Thank-you again.

Kind regards.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have been attending a fortnightly networking breakfast at this Holiday Inn for a little over 3 years and up to the last 4 months the service and breakfast has always been good.

I'm not sure what happened but over the last three months the services is now below average and the food! Cold bacon, undercooked sausages, the wrong type of egg being served (as in fried when scrambled was ordered) There was the time when a colleague ordered beans on toast with 2 hash browns. They got two slices of un-buttered toast, with 2 hash browns on top floating in a sea of beans. You would think as this was a) a regular event, b) the choices did not change the staff did. And the final insult they wanted to increase the charge by 60%. You will not be surprised to hear we no longer use the venue we now use the Cameo Hotel about a mile away.

So if you want a convenient hotel in Ipswich but don't care about the breakfast it may be for you - but if you want a halfway decent meal to start the day try Jo's Caff down the road.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel we used it for a breakfast networking meeting. The service deteriorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasalon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Rasalon44,

Thank-you for posting a review about your breakfast meetings.

I too am disappointed that your Breakfast Networking meetings have chosen to move hotels.

I am sure you can appreciate that your discounted breakfast rate of just £8.75 (£7.30 net of VAT) for a private meeting room and private service is not commercially viable when only 5 or 6 of your group make a reservation. This rate was initially based on the understanding that your numbers would grow; unfortunately this has not transpired.

I do try to support local businesses, and local business initiatives, and as such I was happy to offer private dining breakfast with a minimum spend, or to move your meeting to the main restaurant.

I trust this clarifies the hotel's position, and I would encourage you to take a look at the restaurant buffet breakfast, which is superb, and for which we receive consistently great feedback !! My offer still stand if you ever want to have your meeting in our restaurant.

Thank-you again, and kind regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in a family room on a recent trip for a relative's birthday party. The hotel was very clean & the staff very friendly. It is situated on the main road so very accessible. Breakfast was ok but not enough variety for the price. Various items kept running out & it took a while for them to be restocked. Room was nice enough & very clean - unfortunately the bathroom was tiny so very difficult to bath our 2 kids. Overall very good for a budget hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Marie D,

Thank-you for posting a review about the hotel. I was pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and I hope you were able to take advantage of the swimming pool with your children.

I hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in Ipswich.

Kind regards.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights on business, checked out in the morning, eventually got home to realise I'd left a book in the room. Rang the hotel the following morning and was put through to Sharon one of the ladies in charge of room cleaning. She was absolutely great !! She quickly confirmed they had found the book, asked for my details and straight away offered to get it in the post the same day. She was as good as her word and the book arrived the following day. Of course I've sent a letter refunding the postal cost but it wasn't asked for 'in advance' or anything. I'm sure they get all sorts of things left behind by guests and it must be a hassle sorting it out but I cannot compliment this lady enough on the way my enquiry was dealt with. It is so often the case that hotel staff are slightly unwilling to assist with this kind of thing but Sharon was really excellent - Thanks again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epicrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Epicrh,

Many thanks for your great review.

I am pleased that we were able to repatriate you with your book, and I will be sure to pass on your comments about Sharon, who I know will be delighted.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just a quick note on my recent stay.
Found the hotel to be a good standard and clean and well presented, albeit an older (1960's?) build
Great attention by all staff but particularly Jade who couldn't do enough to help and assist us in the dining room.
First class hostess and a real asset to the company.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoody00588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Hoody00588,

Many thanks for your great review. While the hotel is not a modern building, we do make up for this with with great staff. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to Jade.

Thank-you and we hope to see you again.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business. Decent hotel, friendly staff, food in the restaurant was of a good standard I had the fish and chips which was really nice, mind I was starving. The gym and pool are of a good standard also. Some minor points if my room was any further away from reception I would have needed a taxi to get to breakfast, not a problem unless you are not too mobile, so if you do have mobility problems probably best to ask for a room near reception. The bathrooms are really small and the door is annoying. I also think in this day and age wi fi should be free especially to loyalty members but it isn't. Breakfast was good and all in all I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Colin R,

Many thanks for posting your review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and the good news is that from July you can enjoy free wifi by simply joining our loyalty scheme, IHG Rewards.

Thanks again for the review.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
547 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.9 mi away
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $58 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing