We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food rubbish, hotel looks tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel looks like a 1960s primary school turned into a hotel. It good definitely do with a paint job. Room was unnaturally hot and I had difficultly getting to sleep despite adjusting temperature.

Food in the bar was overpriced and poor (£12 ish) when I would have been satisfied with this quality if I had only paid £7ish.

Staff were friendly though and the gym and pool were nice

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Malcolm S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Ipswich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 586 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Pros = Very nice and friendly staff who do the best job they can.

Cons = 256k internet allocated for free wifi internet usage, there is a pay for option which I would assume is faster. However I stay in a lot of hotels and 256k is very stingy when it comes to free internet usage 1Meg as a minimum would be more appropriate, the 256K connection felt like the dial up days.
The bed was very hard and resulted in sore ribs and a lot of tossing and turning. And the pillows were very thin and felt cheap regardless of choosing firm or soft. On the first night I was sweating all night as I thought this was due to the fact that the air conditioning wasn't functioning properly, I called reception who sent maintenance. It transpired that the radiator had been set permanently to the on position (fully on) and maintenance had to use a wrench to turn it off manually, adding to this that the air conditioning wasn't working and the heat in the room was unbearable for any length of time. Maintenance said it was for the comfort of guests as this was still classed as wintertime. If that's comfort, then I wouldn't like to see what they classed as uncomfortable. Adding to that the weather forecast was for up to 21 degrees last week. Anyway, the maintenance guys were nice and fixed the problem for me quickly. I did have a 5 month old baby in the room and high temperatures can be dangerous when sleeping at night. The iron didn't work and was replaced also. The pool although good has some sort of brown rust forming at one side. In conclusion I feel the staff are very good, but the hotel itself could do with a refurbishment and free internet should be faster and in line with competitors.

Would we book this hotel again? Not unless the above was advertised as improved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank-you for your feedback on your stay.

It is disappointing that you didn't have a great stay.

As you know, I do provide all my guests with both my personal e-mail address, and phone number, so that I can be contacted if you are in anyway disappointed with your stay. In future, please let me know, and if there is anything I can help with, I will.

Kind regards

Paul Smith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A one-night stay on business, this was probably a little better than average for a hotel of this type / price point. The staff I encountered (check-in, check-out and in the bar) were friendly and in two cases went out of their way to be helpful. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but had a snack in the bar on arrival and for breakfast before leaving. Both were good quality and value for money.

The room was basic, but clean and comfortable, and very quiet. As an IHG member I had free wi-fi, but found it very slow, and reverted to my own Mi-Fi pretty quickly. There is a gym at the hotel, and although I didn't use it it seemed to be very well used by locals - the car par was pretty much full at 6.30pm, with most of those cars having gone by 8am next morning.

I would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Yorkshireman,

Many thanks for posting your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. We do work hard to ensure our guests have a great stay, so I am pleased this was the case for yourself.

I have asked for a site survey from our wi-fi provider, so we can understand why you experienced a slow connection. I am sorry this was an issue for you.

Many thanks again.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I find it hard to believe that in this day and age Holiday Inn have no Freeview TV or free Wifi other than for club members.

The hotel it's self is in a good area, clean, warm and the staff are firendly.

I would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Worxelminxy,

Many thanks for your review, and thank-you for your comments about the television channels. I am sorry we do not offer freeview, but we do have sky channels, as well as pay movies.
As for wi-fi, yes, you are correct, this is free for our IHG Rewards members, but it is very quick, easy and free to sign up; we are more than happy to help you when you stay with us again.

Thank-you again for your review.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Work took me to Ipswich so I booked this place on then IHG website. Easy to find, loads of parking, quick checkin. Room was good, loads of room, fridge, usual HI amenities. Clean and comfy bed. quiet good for sleep. Did not eat in the hotel as with clients elsewhere but the food I saw in the bar looked ok. Breakfast was good and hot. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. Only one gripe is there was not enough staff in the bar in the evening. long wait for service - all the staff were working hard and apologised for the wait but simply just not enough of them. Would have had another few beers but could not be bothered to wait. Not a major issue and this would not put me off returning.

Room Tip: I was on second floor - quiet and clean
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Peter51964,

Many thanks for the great review about your stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and similarly pleased that you will stay with us again. I apologise that you were disappointed with the service in the bar. This is something I will be reviewing.

Thank-you again.

Kind regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fairly quick check in, long walk along the drab corridor to our room, took 5 mins to work out how the room card worked(we weren't the only ones)-room smelt musty on arrival, tiny bathroom with a half bath at the most. Extremely uncomfortable bed, lumpy and saggy made for terrible two nights sleep! Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment. We did use the pool area which was nice, warm pool and jacuzzi and lovely steam room and sauna. Will look for alternative accommodation if in this neck of the woods again.

Room Tip: Maybe an executive room would be better!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debseydoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear debseydoo101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the key card and the bed. Please be assured that all your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had an excellent stay at this hotel - Staff were very friendly and helpful - rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. We also used the pool while we were there and found it to be well kept and a nice temperature. We also enjoyed the evening meals and breakfasts. We found this hotel very good value for money and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondo644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Raymondo644,

Many thanks for the really great reviews !! Wow - 5 stars !! Thank-you.

I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
11.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing