We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No problems”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed overnight attending a Christmas meal, Had no problems would stay again, very comfortable bed, nice breakfast and friendly staff. Would have no problem recommending. Hotel is situated on outskirts of town so car would be handy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taibhreamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear taibhreamh,

Many thanks for your review, and great comments. We do try very hard here to ensure that all our guests have a great stay, so I am pleased this was the case for yourself.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    225
    147
    41
    30
See reviews for
103
162
27
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the second time I stay at the Holiday Inn Ipswich. We went there this time to visit friends and relatives in the area and we stayed for one night.

In summary, the service was great, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good, with a selection of cereals. cooked breakfast and freshly made pancakes!

We did not use any of the Swimming and Spa facilities.

The hotel itself is a little bit tired and could do with a refurbishment, but for the the location, services, food and facilities, it is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pessutojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Pessutojr,

Many thanks for posting such a great review. I am pleased you had a great stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one Saturday night. We chose this hotel purely for the price, proximity to A14 for quick getaway next day and free parking. It's a taxi ride into town and back but reception were happy enough to call one for us, don't expect much change from £20 return for this. For what I paid for the hotel we were happy enough, however the room was quite small and anything more than a day or two would have probably resulted in us finding it very irritating. Our room was on the top floor of an annex and as far as I could see this is not serviced by a lift although this wasn't an issue for us. The facilities are great and the pool seemed popular, some of the corridors looked a little tired and some doors looked like they belonged in the 70s, on a plus side, the breakfast was fantastic with a good range of cold and warm products. Prepay and get a breakfast voucher to reduce the price. All in all a good hotel if you can find a discount, but at the standard rate, you will find better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fatboyfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Fatboyfoo,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

While we can't change the age of the building, we do all try to deliver great service. I am pleased you enjoyed the service, and our great breakfast.

When returning, I would always encourage you to book direct, or use our IHG app, as we guarantee the best price.

Thank-you again for your review.

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on business and always found the staff polite, engaging and informed; from stepping into reception through to departure.

Rooms are the typical HI style, but I prefer to know what I'm getting. Clean, tidy and modern layout and fittings in the room. The wider hotel could do with an exterior facelift but thankfully the outside and inside have no resemblance too each other.

The pool and fitness area are small but clean and tidy. The bar was ok, limited meal choices and is the only place to get wireless access.

All in all, a pleasant experience and i will return when next in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TeamWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Teamwithers,

Many thanks for posting your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

I appreciate your comments about wifi. We do have wi-fi throughout the hotel, which is complimentary for Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards Members, and this benefit will extend to all IHG Rewards members in May 2014.

Thank-you again for your review.

Kind Regards


Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffeld
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I found a good deal for this hotel on tripadvisor. I was looking for a room for 3 for an overnight stay before getting the ferry from Harwich to the Hook of Holland.
I also wanted to try an alternative to Premier Inn.
There are not many hotels that will take 3 adults (adults as in parents & teenage daughter).
The initial quoted price was £51 for the room. A supplement of £25 is added for the extra person.
On arrival the staff were very professional & helpful.
The room was of a good standard however it was not really a suite for 3 people.
It had a nice big TV with additional movies etc. A movie cost £7.50. This is handy when you have kids to entertain.
I was disappointed with the extra bed which was a mattress on the floor not a converted sofa bed. Especially when the cost was a third of the total cost of the room.
The hotel does have a gym & a pool.
The Hotel was very clean although it does seem a bit dated.
We did not eat in the restaurant one of the reason it was a it cold in the bar area.

Overall it was a great deal for 2 people but not as good for 3.
I needed Wi-Fi to get details of the place on Holland I was staying in. But Holiday Inn charge £5 per hour which in this day & age is pure extortion.

For the price Breakfast was decent enough

I paid I was happy with the hotel. If I had paid the quoted rate of £154 I would have been very unhappy.

Holiday Inn still have not convinced me that they are an alternative to the Premier Inn unless the rate is competitive.
But then again £51 for a couple was not bad at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Thenails,

Thank-you for your review, and I am pleased you were able to make use of the hotel as a stopover for Harwich.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your third bed. Our range of sofa beds do vary from conventional sofa beds, to trundle beds, which are stored underneath the sofa. This is what you would have had for your third bed.

I appreciate the great feedback, and we will look forward to you staying with us again when you are next going to Harwich.

As for booking - by booking direct on our website, we guarantee the best price.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A nice hotel. I find that weekends are the best time for me. The place is not too busy then and one can relax in the pool as it's not crowded. I would have hoped for free WI-FI before now in all rooms. A pity really as in this day and age it's usually now expected. Breakfast was the usual help yourself buffet style, but was well cooked and wholesome. All the staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Book via Booking.com as you get breakfast as part of the deal. If you book with Holiday Inn direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reflexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Reflexman,

Thank-you so much for such a great rating........when we receive 5* ratings such as yours, it makes all our hard work really worthwhile.

I am sorry about the wi-fi charge. As from around May next year, if you join IHG Rewards (our free to join loyalty program), you can enjoy free wi-fi across the hotel.

We will look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel was good and amenities excellent. Staff were very friendly.
However if you want wi-fi the cost is £5 per hour in your hotel room. Available for IHG reward card holders in the lounge. In to-days technology I would have expected free wi-fi across the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank-you for your review, and your 5 star rating - wow, the team will be very pleased.

As you are aware, currently only Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards Members enjoy free wi-fi throughout the hotel, however I am pleased to say that as from May next year, all IHG Rewards members will enjoy.

IHG Rewards is free to join, so I hope we can welcome you back in the future, and offer you this benefit.

Many thanks again for your review.

Regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
474 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
825 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich
Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing