We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, brilliant staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, brilliant staff and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent 3 nights on a dinner/bed and breakfast rate. Great value for money having booked direct with the Holiday Inn website. Room more spacious that we thought it would be - queen bed and sofabed for our daughter. As previous reviewers have mentioned the bathroom is rather small, but for how long you spend in there it wasn't really an issue for us. Tea/Coffee making facilities (but no fridge which would have been nice to keep drinks cool), trouser press, large flatscreen tv and air conditioning (which was welcoming as we had hot weather throughout our stay). There was a nice pool with spa, steam and sauna, which was lovely to end the day in. Breakfast on two mornings was full buffet, and the other morning when the restaurant was quiet was cooked to order. Nice choice of cold fruits/cereals/cold meats and cheeses/full fried breakfast and toast/croissants/danish/pancake machine. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely - we thought it was buffet (but this was only for the coach party staying) you get to choose from the menu with items marked with an S. There was prawn cocktail/soup of day/cheese topped mushrooms and smoked salmon tart for starter. For main was sausages & mash/two different burgers/chicken kebabs/coronation chicken and one vegetarian meal. For dessert chocolate nemesis/ice cream/caramel apple granny or cherry bakewell cheesecake. All food was nicely presented and tasted lovely. In the lounge area there was a Starbucks (much to my daughter's delight) and free wifi (although 2 out of 3 nights we had trouble getting it). Hotel was ideally situated about 10 minutes from Ipswich town centre, 15 minutes from Flatford Mill/Dedham (great for a lovely walk or boat down the river) and 40 minutes from the lovely coastal resort of Southwold. Great stay and all staff were friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. Would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: No lift so if you stay for a few days and have luggage ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Cambridges,

Thank-you so much for your great review about your stay with us.

It sounds as though you took full advantage of all that the hotel has to offer, as well as the surrounding area, and had a great time !!

Thanks for the recommendation, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    217
    142
    41
    28
See reviews for
99
155
26
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for business, average hotel from Holiday Inn. Romms nice if a little small, leisure facilities pretty nice and clean, restaurant OK with average food, staff very friendly.

Best bits - pool

Worst bits - being asked upon departure if I would give them 10/10 and having a letter asking me the same thing when checking in. Well no I don't give it 10/10 because its a holiday in and not light fantastic but its nice and serves a purpose when away on business

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffymallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Fluffymallows,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. As you know, I do provide all of my guests with my e-mail address and telephone number so they can let me know how they rated their stay. Guests do not always have the time to offer feedback during their stay, so asking for a rating at check-out allows me the opportunity to speak to a guest who had a poor experience, so I can both understand why, as well as rectify any issues.

I hope you can understand the reason for this, and that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Ipswich.

Thank-you again for your comments.

Regards

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having been invited to attend a Christening in Suffolk over the August Bank Holiday weekend, my 7 year old daughter and I chose the Holiday Inn Ipswich for an overnight stay. A good choice - despite the short stay, we enjoyed two fun visits to the swimming pool, and my daughter had a nice play outside in the kid's playground. We also had a lovely buffet breakfast in the morning - served until a nice lazy 11am on the Bank Holiday! The room was ideal for us, a twin with two single comfortable beds. At check in, my daughter was also given an activity pack with crayons, puzzles, jigsaw etc to occupy her in the room, and the staff were helpful and cheerful throughout. My one solitary gripe was the lack of a basic free internet (Wifi) service (charges by the hour), which in 2013 really ought to be inclusive in the big hotel chains - it is in most other hotels I travel to. But overall would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRunnicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MRunnicles,

Thank-you so much for posting such great comments about your stay. I am pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us, and I hope you will come and see us again the next time you are in the area.

We do offer free wi-fi to all Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards members, and as from next year (around May), all IHG Rewards members will enjoy this benefit.

Thank-you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited for one night on 24th August,the restaurant Manager was excellent he provided me with fresh milk no question asked and the breakfast and restaurant staff were also excellent, the receptionist was not particularly as helpful as she could have been even though she did find us a room early not the one allocated to us and she made sure we knew that we should not have been able to have the room before 2pm unfortunately another guest arrived as I stood at the desk and she was given her room straight away proving that their were rooms available without having to be so condescending; the room was very small and the bathroom smaller still,I explained that we were attending a wedding and I had called the hotel to arrange for a room early she said it was on the form but that it was not guaranteed I said I knew this but would appreciate it if possible, she said we could change in the spa changing rooms I explained that this was not ideal and she stated that this was the best they could do if a room was not available. What confused me was there were at the most 20 cars on the car park in the morning not sure how that equates to a full hotel with no spare rooms,in the evening it was very busy so I understand that most of the rooms would be used but a hotel is rarely completely full especially with the amount of hotels in the area. We had noted a discount code on the booking as it was for a wedding (arranged by the groom) we were charged full price, my booking form states that there was a discount but it was ignored.

Had a choice of hotels in the area which had been listed on wedding arrangements but as we had stayed here before we thought it would be the same standard again .... what a mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear pedr0123,

Thank-you for your comments from your stay with us.

I am sorry that your room was not ready for you when you arrived. As a standard, we have a check-out time of 12 noon, and a check-in time of after 2pm. At weekends in particular our guests tend to enjoy their breakfast and the pool, and then check out at 12noon or a little after. Similarly our guests who are arriving want to take full advantage of the hotel and the facilities, so may want to check-in at 2pm.

This presents the challenge for us to get all the rooms in hotel cleaned in just 2 hours. The staffing levels and schedules in housekeeping means that meeting this demand is not always possible. If the hotel was full the night before, it makes this task all the more challenging - irrespective of the number of cars in the car park, which is in no way indicative of the number of guests who have already left, or who travelled by coach.

We have 7 types of room here at the Holiday Inn, and we try our best to match our rooms with those which have been booked. It may be that some guests reserved a different room type to yourself, which is why their room was ready, and yours was not. I am sure if you booked a family room, or a double bed, you would not be happy with a twin room.

I hope this helps you understand the situation, which while uncommon, can sometimes occur.

Regards

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

wife and i stayed for three nights here must say our stay was most enjoyable arrived on a busy friday night ,the young lady on the reception all on here own ,but hey no problem to big ,her name was ,Daniela great service,eat in the restaurant the first night it was ok decided to eat out next night sunday we ordered a meal in the bar nice and quite very nice aberdeen angus berger for um wha ,wife had the veg curry most enjoyable,
Breakfast each morning great good choice all round ,
the pool a good size for a hotel ,Well will be staying here again if in the area,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Geof0521,

Many thanks for posting such a great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in Ipswich.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way to the coast. Cannot fault it considering what we paid. Staff were really helpful and polite, breakfast was excellent, great shower and a very nice pool too. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallmeMuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently used this hotel as a base whilst visiting family in Ipswich.
The rooms we booked (1 double & 1 twin) were perfectly acceptable - clean & comfortable. The bathroom was fine if a little small but the cold water pressure was very poor. The towels also were quite small and rather thin.
The hotel itself probably needs an update as the corridors are rather dingy.
However, the check in / out was quick and efficient and the staff seemed very friendly.
The hotel has a large car park and is easy to access form the town centre.
We did not eat there.
Overall, the hotel met our needs as a one off visit.

Room Tip: try not to get a room on the front so as to avoid early morning traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear FamilyJ_11,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate your compliments on our staff and happy that you had an efficient check in and check out.

However, I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you had with some of our bathroom amenities. Nevertheless, I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manger
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.1 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich
Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing