We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
essex england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just spent a great weekend away at this Holiday Inn and was pleasantly surprised how nice it is,We are slightly disabled and requested a larger bathroom which we was given,it was huge and spotlessly clean.The room itself was lovely also.The tea and coffee was a great touch and the iron and hair dryer was a bonus.The hotel has a lovely swimming pool which we used each day we was there. The staff were very nice and helpful.It is in a convienient position with lovely grounds beautifully kept .The down side if any was food and drink are very pricey so we went out to eat all the time,also it was quite noisy outside the rooms when guests came back at night as it was the weekend.We really enjoyed our stay and would book again.

Room Tip: we requested a larger bathroom and we got a huge room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bensnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Bensnan,

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank-you very much for the great feedback you gave following your stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Ipswich.

Bets wishes.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    215
    141
    41
    28
See reviews for
98
155
26
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stay at this hotel at least once a month. The rooms are comfortable with fresh towels, toiletries, ironing facilities, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The spa is lovely and the breakfast (pay in advance when you check in) is plentiful and will have something for everyone. Good access to A12/A14 which makes getting around pretty easy. We book through hotwire (usually about ten days in advance) and get a double room with a bed for a child (teenager) for £37.00 for the night so it really does pay to shop around and book early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandShen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback.
I was pleased you like the facilities in the rooms, as well as the spa. We love our breakfast here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich, so I am pleased you enjoyed it too, and that you took advantage of our breakfast vouchers. You may in fact get a slightly better deal if you pay for breakfast at time of booking...perhaps one for you to consider next time you stay.
Glad you got a great rate.
We will look forward to welcome you back.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

went here with my husband for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it the hotel staff were very welcoming and very helpful the room was lovely we stayed in the executive very airy and roomy linen was changed every day and the room was cleaned everyday the breakfast was really good and set you up for the day the gym and swimming pool was an added bonus really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: any room would be good as it is set in its own grounds away from the main road so it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Allison W,

Many thanks for your great feedback about our hotel. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially pleased that you found the staff very welcoming.

We will look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Ipswich.

Many thanks again.

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 nights, the hotel is in a great location for site-seeing Suffolk with good road links and the Ipswich Park n Ride a 10 minute walk away. We made good use of the excellent pool and gym facilities every morning and evening. The only down side is the very expensive food from the hotel bar which is very over-priced for basic bar meals. I'm sure more guests would eat there if each meal was a few pounds cheaper, however, there are alternatives with a half decent pub and pizza restaurant a mile or so away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseHaven37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay.

I was pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, our facilities and our pool. It was disappointing to read about how expensive you felt the bar and food prices were. We do offer special meals on some nights of the week which include 1 or 2 drinks, and in addition we have themed buffets that prove very popular with our guests. Similarly families tend to take advantage of our "kids eat free" promotion (when dining with an adult).

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again.

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I got there in the sunshine after the rain, and the first impression was a very good one, a hotel surrounded by vast, green gardens. The hotel itself does look a bit tired and old-fashioned, but I was given an executive room which, even if not great, made up for it.

One of the reasons why I booked it was the swimming-pool and spa area. I went to the sauna, which was good enough, but the pool was crammed with ladies doing some sort of aquagym -I'm pretty sure they were not guests, but local people-, and would have made my presence there pretty awkward, had I tried to jump in.

I guess I'd go back if went back to Ipswich, though I guess it's unlikely...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Josmon10,

Many thanks for taking the time to offer us feedback.

I am pleased you like our grounds, and pleased to hear that you would return to stay with us next time you are in Ipswich.

I was sorry that the swimming pool was busy when you stayed. We do have a full Spirit Health Club, which includes a sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi, so we do have gym members who pay to use our facilities through their membership. Ordinarily a section of the pool should be roped off for classes, and another area for private swimmers. I am sorry if this was not the case when you stayed.

We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Paul Smith
General Manager
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday inn with my family to break up a long journey. The price was good value, the staff friendly and the breakfast was good.

However overall the hotel felt a little tired - with long rather dingy corridors.

We stayed in what was described as an executive room, yet it felt a little small to boast such a title.

Small things also proved a little frustrating, like the shutters not really closing across the window until forced shut, and there was no milk provided with the tea and coffee in the room (although, to be fair, the reception staff quickly resolved this).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear BexleyStuart,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you mentioned our friendly staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. Most importantly, I would like to apologize and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was invited to a Rotary lunch and was subjected to a thin slab of dry chargrilled chicken topped with a sad sun dried tomato. After some time we were served 1 vegetable. Then after the 2 staff had served all 30 meals, they then served the second vegetable and finally with a third member of staff they served the potatoes. Then when we finished the meal they came to serve some "gravy". Total shambles and a rip off for the Rotary as they pay £10 for this rubbish every week. I have told them to move as they are being taken for a ride.
This establishment and is an embarrassment to catering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipswichsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.1 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich
Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing