We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Theatre Dinner”
Review of Alaturka

Alaturka
Ranked #7 of 496 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

We love Turkish food and as we were visiting Ipswich to see a show, decided to visit this lovely restaurant. Good choice of Meze starters and tasty main courses, some nice Turkish wine an added bonus.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, 5 minutes from threatre and close to town centre. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank davee907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaturkaIpswich, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dave,

We greatly appreciate your response and hope to see you again soon if you return to Ipswich!

Many thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 594 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2019

Never been before, but have to say I will return and instead of usually going to an Indian or Chinese in Ipswich, and not wanting to eat what you can cook at home, it made a nice change.

Even the Turkish wine was good, the desserts lovely. We also had mixed starters and the mixed grill.

Service really good, I just would have liked a stronger chilli sauce to go as addition to the meal. I asked for chilli sauce but it was quite sweet as found often with Chinese food.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Admiral G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaturkaIpswich, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review, we would have to agree our lovely Turkish food is a great change!

We hope to see you again soon and we'd be happy to add a few extra chillies to your meal!

Many thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

We had a great evening on Friday, in the private dining room. Semra made us very welcome, and all requests for dietary needs were carefully and thoughtfully met. House wine is excellent, service excellent , interesting plentiful and varied dishes. Great hospitality which made our dance night relaxed and comfortable .We will return !

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FarAway816460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaturkaIpswich, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, we are more than happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

havnt been for a while but revisited with a friend and forgotten how good their food is ..cant wait to go again...Sharon

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaturkaIpswich, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sharon,

We are so glad you and your friend enjoyed your visit to Alaturka, we can't wait to see you again!

Many thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Had a family meal at Alaturka and the decor and service was very good. However there are some other, very good Turkish restaurants in Ipswich and I fear Alaturka may be resting on it's laurels a little.
The food was good, but portions weren't massive, which in itself isn't bad but the price for the size of the dishes wasn't comparative.
The lamb in my stew was pretty tough although all the other dishes were faultless.
Difficult to decide in a rating as on the whole it was a nice evening but I think it's a pricey meal out and needs to be spectacular to charge what it does. Sorry.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank KittenMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaturkaIpswich, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

We are very happy you liked our restaurant but we are sorry to hear about you issues with the food. We have since revisited the lamb dishes and revised our menu.

We greatly appreciate the feedback and it will be communicated to our chefs. We are always looking to improve and would love to see you again for a chance to better your experience.

Many thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing