We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alaturka

Alaturka
Ranked #5 of 442 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My partner and I went there on a weekday night, and used our taste card which gives a two for one deal. Despite being "cheap rate" customers, the service was polite and attentive.

Our starters (Kalamari and prawns respectively) were acceptable but nothing special, a little on the small side and the sort of thing that you might have in a pub etc. Maybe they were not prepared in-house but bought in frozen? I don't know, but they were certainly not a patch on the main courses.

My lamb Kuzu sis (shish kebab) was meltingly tender, beautifully seasoned and charcoal grilled to perfection, really good. My partner had the Alaturka Spesiyal ( mixed grilled meats with bread and a yoghurt sauce) which he declared to be very good.

We didn't try the puddings.

Even with a bottle of Turkish Villa Doluca wine to try, the bill was not excessive. The restaurant has about 12 other people when we were there (us, another couple and a table of work colleagues) but even so the single waiter was in control at all times.

I'd say, give it a try. It's exactly the sort of independent, non-chain restaurant that Ipswich needs more of. We had a good midweek meal in a nice ambience with attentive service. Maybe skip the starters and go for the main event and pudding?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    111
    32
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Turkish delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although do excellent lunch deals; we went for an early evening / pre-theatre meal.
The service and food were first class and brings a real taste of Turkey to Suffolk and is a pleasant change to the usual fare on offer when going out for a meal.
We've been to Turkey and this food was as good as we've tasted and brings authentic cuisine to the good people of Ipswich

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricoh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice to have something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I visited here using my Tastecard so the food was on offer at 2 for 1 price. The restaurant is in what looks to be a converted old house which added to it's charm. The staff were helpful and friendly but not in your face or pushy. The food was very nice and made a change from the usual fayre on offer. The starters are priced around £4-5 and there was a good selection to choose from. Mains were about £10-15 pounds. Desserts were about £5.
It wasn't especially busy but I put this down to it being a Tuesday. The food was good but not the largest meal I have ever had, I wouldn't say this is a negative point for me as I don't like feeling over full after a meal but it might put some people off. My husband found his meal quite filling so perhaps it depends on what you order. I would go again if I was in the area but only using my discount card.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had high hopes for this after hearing so many positive reviews but was underwhelmed.

We went on a week night and there was only us and one other table there. Only one person out of our six was impressed with their starter. I ordered the klefiko main dish and it was a lovely knuckle of lamb so I was happy enough, but the rest of the dish lacked flavour. Most of the other mains were apparently quite bland and they didn't look very appetising to me.

It felt like it was really missing something and on the basis of my one visit it definitely doesn't match up to other Turkish restaurants I've eaten in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank russwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Missing something”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Returned a second time as my first experience in the evening was so obviously at odds with other reviewers, but a lunchtime visit, for the admittedly good value set menu, still only merited three stars. Complimentary excellent warm, fresh flatbread and olives are placed on the table for nibbling during menu perusal, but unfortunately that's as good as it gets. The dishes are unusual and go beyond the standard meze and kebabs, but there is a certain uniformity and blandness, as if spicing and flavours have been ameliorated not to offend a Suffolk palate. Decor is unremarkable; service friendly enough, but if you've eaten in Turkey itself it might be interpreted as condescending. However, wouldn't like to put you off going: Ipswich needs the variety of restaurants such as this, and it is obviously very popular with others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing