We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fantastic service”
Review of Indian Palace

Indian Palace
Ranked #71 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Very first South indian , Srilankan restaurant in Suffolk.We cook South indian,indian,Srilankan food halal in our restaurant.Fully licence baar till late.Seat upto 90 customers.Vip room availeble,private party rooms availeble.We do have delivery service,customer express collection,out door catering services. Express food service for who is going to Regent Theatre Ipswich. Council Car park in front of the restaurant.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A really terrific all-round experience. The greeting at the restaurant was great, and the service kept up to that high standard throughout. Friendly, attentive, knowledgeable service - nothing seemed too much to ask.

The food - which, I suppose, is the key part of any restaurant outing - was excellent. Very distinctive tastes to each of the dishes, which isn't something you can say of every curry. The sauces were rich and tasty, and not greasy; the meat was all of excellent quality; and the South Indian special dishes are worth trying.

The decor is fine - nothing special, but nothing terrible. Atmosphere was a bit quiet, but then we did eat early - as the restaurant filled up, the atmosphere began to lift so I'm sure would be pretty good if/when the restaurant gets full.

Overall, outstanding. Just a shame that we don't live near Ipswich so won't get the change to go again soon...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    31
    10
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent South Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Four of us visited the Inidian Palace last night for the first time on recommendation. South Indiain cuisine was cooked fresh and truly excellent, we could not fault it. The menu is extensive, it was difficult to make a choice. We complimented the chef who came out and spoke to us and explained that they were a faimly run business, such lovely gently people. The restaurant is quiet and relaxed and ideal for catching up with friends or a cosy meal for two. We will definitely return and are happy to give this restaurant a five star rating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JellyBean5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awful food”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Food was awful, we ordered chicken tikka masala & it had no taste, spices also veg jalfrazi was uncooked and with vadai instead of sambhar we been served dry frozen paste! We did complain but still had to pay full amount for uncooked, frozen & nonservable food!!!! Good job we had doggy bag so we can show it to our friends &family. Funny thing is our neighbour is shef & she said this not chicken tikka also veg jalfrazi wasn't veg jalfarzi!!! Never again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank tiklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As always a lovely evening”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have been regular customers for some time now. The service as usual was excellent. Some new vegetarian options had been added which we enjoyed. Although we are not vegetarian we are always tempted by what is on offer and think vegetarians would find the choice very good.
A shame the place is fairly quiet, would strongly recommend people make the effort to find it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephineF464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An undiscovered gem”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Had supper here on a Friday evening for the first time. The restaurant itself is a lovely room and had a relaxing atmosphere for having a meal with friends. The food was wonderful - freshly cooked and authentic Southern Indian dishes - lovely channa masala and dhosa. It was full of flavour and the portion sizes were generous - we'll be returning soon. Early on in the evening it was quite quiet but got busier around 10. We wondered why and came to the conclusion that people just haven't discovered this place yet. The service was attentive and we weren't waiting long for our meal. Overall, great place and great value - £40 for supper for two (which we couldn't eat all of it) with a bottle of red.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Palace also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Indian Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing