We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good, but very pushy staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turquoise - CLOSED

Turquoise
Price range: $4 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Turquoise Restaurant present on its menu a complimentary selection of classic mezzes and mains from finest Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine.Fresh meat, fish and poultry is traditionally prepared with authentic herbs ans spices by our dedicated chefs paying particular attention to detail and warmth typical of the Turkish culture. Such hospitality, coulpled with the restaurant's relaxed and sophisticated ambiance, completes the superb culinary experience whether an intimate candlelit dinner for two an enjoyable night out with the family or a large party booking let or friendly and efficient team turn your dinner into a great occasion.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food was good, but very pushy staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although we enjoyed the food, the very pushy, smarmy man ruined the experience for us. He came over every few minutes pushing us to order more of something and it was just uncomfortable.
We were a party of four and after the meal when one person ordered coffee, he got coffees for all four of us. You came to expect such cheap behavior at tourist hot spots, not at places like this.
It is an expensive place, and for the money you pay, I expected much better service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caledonia_Lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

the best place to eat in ipswich! great value, friendly staff and absolutely delicious turkish food, i always recommend to friends!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emz_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a delicious set menu lunch here. Very friendly staff and interesting ambience! We are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in delivering poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The waiter did not offer us a beverage menu and so one member of my party ordered a turkish beer - this was £9 per pint!!! I ordered a coke - £3.50 and he offered us table water and in some restaurants this is free with the meal, however, this cost is £4. So far then the drinks have come to £16.50 WITHOUT us knowing until the bill is presented. I then ordered the LARGE vegetarian Imam Bayildi expecting it to be more substantial than a small portion. However, the description is 'Baby aubergine filled with shredded onion, garlic, mediterranean parsley and tomato' and this restaurant is unusual in that ALL of the ingredients are listed in the description, no more are added. It was a glorified tomato paste (with no texture) on an aubergine sliced into many pieces to make it look like more was on the plate.

The other member of my party ordered Karniyarik - Baked aubergine filled with mince beef & lamb with herbs in tomato sauce, served with braised rice and yoghurt. He enjoyed the meal but the portion was small as was mine and so we left hungry, unable to afford the desserts all at £6.50 each!!! We both were shocked by the cost of the drinks and small portion sizes. We will not be returning and would not recommend this to anyone as the 'waiter' was actually a salesman who only answered direct questions and it was unfortunate that the restaurant did not introduce us to Turkish culture with a view to wanting to learn and enjoy more food. Overall we spend nearly £40 for two people and left hungry and poor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food. Great experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've been meaning to go here for a while so as we'd used the car park over the road we decided to lunch here. We initially thought about just sharing a meze platter but the main menu lured us to have something bigger.
We had the shared breads and olives to start. A little over priced at £6.50 ( the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) but absolutely lovely.
I had the hollumi main and OH had the lamb shank. Both were fabulous. Great tastes and just the right amount.

Atmosphere was lovely. Nice music and the waiter was great.

We shared some mint tea which was perfect.

So just over £30 for two for lunch. Fantastic food but a couple pounds too much I think.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fajrcoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turquoise also viewed

Tuddenham, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing