We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect party venue”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Neptune

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect party venue”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

23 friends stayed at the house for a weekend celebration of my 50th birthday. Peter gave me a guided tour and my jaw dropped at how amazing the place was.

As the weather was mainly warm and sunny, we spent most of the time in the courtyard. There was plenty of fridge space for our drinks and the minimal food we brought.

We had fish and chips delivered on the Friday eve and a catered Tudor dinner on the Saturday served in the hall. We all dressed up and had medieval music in the background whilst we ate.

The house was perfect for beer pong and hide and seek and general lounging about with my friends, exactly what I’d hoped for.

We used Nelson’s Fish and Chips for the takeaway and Catering for Suffolk for the Tudor banquet, both highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thoughtfu...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An amazingly characterful, comfortable and spacious old house”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This house made more people say 'wow' than I have ever heard before. We filled the house for a 60th birthday party and everyone immediately settled right in, astonished at the character, comfort and space. The dining hall was such a beautiful candlelit setting for us all to eat in comfort, enhanced by balloons for our self-organised murder mystery evening. Take your own candles (the safe kind that won't knock over) if you want to do without the chandelier. The sitting room welcomed us in with its many squashy sofas and huge fireplace with atmospheric log fire (enough logs for about 20 hours of gentle burning provided free with more available to buy. The games room area was large and provided a quieter space for people wanting a breather. The second kitchen also acted as a useful drinks station. The main dining kitchen coped well - though we could have done with a few more very large saucepans/casseroles/serving dishes and as we cooked for ourselves every night. Everything else was there in abundance including a welcoming amount of immediate consumables (e.g. tea, sugar, washing up liquid) and stacks of crockery, cutlery and glassware . Only two rooms don't have an en-suite (the two in the attic), but they do have a toilet and small basin under their attic stairs on the first floor landing and access to a shared ground floor bathroom off the games room. Everyone else had lovely modern en-suites. Car parking worked well with guests dropping off luggage, getting a car parking permit from the house (provided by the owner, currently £3 per night), getting instructions on where to park (Duke Orwell car park next to the University on the waterfront) and after dropping the car off, taking the short stroll back along the marina to the Old Neptune. And yes, pay careful attention to the instructions on how to find the place - the word hidden gem springs to mind. It is on a very busy road at the 'back', but apart from in a few of the bedrooms where you can hear the traffic, you would never know as you access it from the marina where it is tucked behind the Salthouse Harbour Hotel, wrapped around its own totally private pretty courtyard. It was a brilliant winter party house - warm as toast, heating on 24/7 - big enough to absorb us all on a wet, cold weekend in January and I am sure it is just as good in Summer when the barbecue would have beckoned us. Thank you to Peter for renovating this lovely old house for us all to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawg77
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Phenomenal place to stay! Thoroughly recommend!”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We hired this house (26 of us) over a weekend for a joint 40th birthday and it was truly outstanding. It is not only a beautiful building, but the rooms were spacious, comfortable and offered everything we needed. The kitchen & bathrooms stocked the basics, towels were provided and the outdoor space was excellent for the BBQ available to use. The sauna was a great way to relax!

We ordered a massive Sainsbury's shop which was delivered easily on arrival, Pete is lovely and very accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed a weekend of celebrating.

I would absolutely recommend this venue for a large group break away!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
L0uby99
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, great location, full of character.”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just had a long weekend at Neppy. It was fabulous. Seconds from the Marina. Its a short walk from the town centre with some great unusual shops. We arrived by train which is a 15 minute walk to the house. There are some lovely restaurants nearby too. The house accommodated us all comfortably and the bedrooms were all very clean and fresh. The house is very interesting to walk around with lots of history and detail. The fireplace is amazing and would be great to have on in the winter. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend. We would go back if we can get a group big enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookster2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely fantastic weekend. House was perfect, lots of character, nice big dining room. Kitchen had everything we needed. House was perfectly situated for a nice walk and close to the bars, although with a house like that you really have no need to venture out! Everything I had wished for to be able to spend time with my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing