We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Phenomenal place to stay! Thoroughly recommend!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Neptune

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dawg77
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Phenomenal place to stay! Thoroughly recommend!”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We hired this house (26 of us) over a weekend for a joint 40th birthday and it was truly outstanding. It is not only a beautiful building, but the rooms were spacious, comfortable and offered everything we needed. The kitchen & bathrooms stocked the basics, towels were provided and the outdoor space was excellent for the BBQ available to use. The sauna was a great way to relax!

We ordered a massive Sainsbury's shop which was delivered easily on arrival, Pete is lovely and very accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed a weekend of celebrating.

I would absolutely recommend this venue for a large group break away!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
L0uby99
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, great location, full of character.”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just had a long weekend at Neppy. It was fabulous. Seconds from the Marina. Its a short walk from the town centre with some great unusual shops. We arrived by train which is a 15 minute walk to the house. There are some lovely restaurants nearby too. The house accommodated us all comfortably and the bedrooms were all very clean and fresh. The house is very interesting to walk around with lots of history and detail. The fireplace is amazing and would be great to have on in the winter. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend. We would go back if we can get a group big enough.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookster2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely fantastic weekend. House was perfect, lots of character, nice big dining room. Kitchen had everything we needed. House was perfectly situated for a nice walk and close to the bars, although with a house like that you really have no need to venture out! Everything I had wished for to be able to spend time with my friends.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KerrySBra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Character House”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I hired the house for my 40th birthday celebrations and it was amazing!! Every room had it's own charm, the dining room provided a perfect party space, the snug was cosy and the kitchen had everything that you could possibly need! The central courtyard was like an oasis away from the outside world. We popped out for lunch, but otherwise stayed in the house/ courtyard the whole time. Would thoroughly recommend!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wordsmith...
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family friendly”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Amazing property with comfortable accommodation. Perfectly suited for our six families, 12 adults and 7 children, celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary and preparing for a wedding at Woodhall over the weekend of our stay.
Everyone was very impressed with the Neptune.
Lots to do nearby.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing