We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing historic venue for group booking”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Neptune

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suzylok
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing historic venue for group booking”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much for our stay. We all absolutely loved the place and didn't want to leave. You have something very special in the Old Neptune.
It was absolutely perfect for our friend's 50th. I would not hesitate in recommending it. It is so perfectly equipped, we felt incredibly comfortable. The website pictures (although great) could not capture the magic of the property. We were a group of 21 adults and it housed us perfectly. We catered for ourselves on site as we have a number of cooks among us but can see it would be great for organised catering too.
We had little wanders around Ipswich but the main attraction was indeed the old Neptune itself.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You are staying in a stunning piece of history!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing atmospheric gem in Ipswich”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Neptune for two weeks, with a changing cast reaching a peak of 22 (inc. 4 kids). The location near the waterfront is great for restaurants, and the spacious courtyard gives you an island of private serenity. In the sunshine you could almost be in a (tudor) Mediterranean villa.
Small plus points worth noting are that the kitchen knives were sharp, and the dishwashers actually cleaned dishes. We've stayed in too many high-end self-catering houses that have been let down in these areas.

One caveat - if you're tall (well, above 5'10 really), then you'll want to watch out for a number of low-flying beams. We mostly avoided concussion, but it was a close call.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisejay...
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tip-Top”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I hired the Old Neptune for a mid-week business trip and it ticked all the boxes.

First impressions on arrival were great. What a beautiful house with bags of charm and charater. It has great living/communal areas and the bedrooms are all very individual and finished immaculately. I loved how it felt like a labyrinth, with all its staircases and many tucked away rooms.

As a group of 13 we were lucky enough to have a room each but this house could easily accomdate many more people if sharing rooms.

The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed for our stay (once we had done a food shop) . The living room has an incredible fireplace and there were logs and kindling left for us. When we ran out of wood Peter kindly delivered some more later that day. The courtyard is stunning and the whole house wraps around it, I only wish we were here during summer so we could have enjoyed it more.
Great location, some found it a bit tricky to get to but I would suggest following the directions given by Peter to the Salthouse Harbour Hotel as the House sits directly behind it.

Peter also arranged for us to have a late checkout on our day of departure so we could have a meeting in the morning which was really helpful. The housekeeper and her team worked around us despite having another booking arriving only a few hours later.

I would not hesitate in recomending The Old Neptune for either a business or social occasion and I do hope to return here either with work or a group of friends.

Thank you Peter and the team :)

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining room
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Hidden away right in the middle of Ipswich Marina is this amazing 15th Century house. Every room is amazing and there's so much to explore. The house is really well kitted out with modern appliances, everything you could want in a large kitchen, a very comfortable living room with huge fireplace and large screen TV, a fusbal table, and to my delight a set of Technics turntables and mixer, just a shame I didn't bring my records. The beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms spotless, only let down by a lack of hot water, lukewarm at best. Otherwise it would have got 5 stars, but don't let that put you off staying at this amazing place.

Date of stay: August 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: Cold showers.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review – your host emailed us that you all had a fabulous weekend. Sorry to hear about the hot water; one of the boilers had been set to a low temp which meant the water in 2-3 of the bathrooms was warm rather than hot - all the others were fine.

The whole heating and water system was upgraded 2 years ago to hotel standard so it was a real shame we only heard about it from the review as it was very simple to fix and we have a plumber and handyman who are always willing to come out if called.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C
Billericay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a family reunion”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

20 family members (15 adults and 5 children) stayed for 3 nights over the 2nd May bank holiday weekend. I can honestly say I had the most wonderful time, the company of course was fantastic but was backed up brilliantly with wonderful accommodation. The Old Neptune appealed to young and old. Our favourite place was the amazing courtyard and thankfully we were lucky with the weather. We even managed a huge BBQ on the Sunday. We hardly wanted to venture out, but did wander the harbour, visited Isaacs Bar for lunch and the local park.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place and communal areas.
Liked least: Some of the showers only had cold water.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezzavikin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue for a special event with lots of people”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the Old Neptune for my 50th birthday in May. We have a large family and in total accommodated 16 adults (from 35 - 75 years old) and 11 children (from 6 months to 8 years old). The venue was just perfect for the weekend. The weather was extremely kind which helped, but the safety of the courtyard which is closed in meant that we didn't have to continually worry about the children. The venue is literally seconds from the Marina and all the cafes, restaurants and pubs that has to offer. We also booked a dance studio, bowling lane and went swimming with the kids, all within a 5 minute walk of the Old Neptune.

We organised caterers for the Saturday night to do a meal for everyone and the place is so well set up that it felt like being in a private room in a restaurant. For breakfast / staples / snacks, we arranged a Sainsburys delivery on the Friday afternoon we arrived and we ate out for lunch on Saturday and Sunday.

It is obvious that the owners have either lived in the place or listened carefully to guest feedback as the attention to detail in terms of what is provided is meticulous (down to the 5 corkscrews - just in case!)

All in all, an amazing weekend - so many of the family have said we must do it again every other year. So many people have looked slightly questioning when I mentioned that we were going to Ipswich for the weekend. The Marina is great and once you are in the venue itself, you really could be anywhere.

Date of stay: May 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halloumi1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best party house EVER!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at The Old Neptune for my hen do last month. There were 20 of us in total and we stayed from Friday-Monday. The house is absolutely stunning with plenty of room for everyone to spend time together but also enough private rooms for you to get away from the mayhem if needed. We were sent tons of info and recommendations by the owners during the booking process and they were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone needing a great social party house. We've already spoke about returning for other events in the future :)

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing