We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tudor Splenour!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Neptune

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DAVE_OSCR...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Tudor Splenour!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Old Neptune – what an great find! We had a university re-union here and arranging it from New York i was a bit skeptical about whether you'd find a great place in IPSWICH but we were a large group and this was the place that could accommodate us all. That all meleted away when we stepped ino the courtyard and back in time to an old Tudor inn that had a really nice maritime feel.

As people started to arrive we served a big chilli out in the courtyard and everyone really enjoyed the food in the fading light of the day, and then inside for some hanging out and playing records on the turntables that are nestled in the cupboard. That kitchen is a great space to cook in and really well equipped!

We planned very few things to do which was lucky, as we spent most time hanging out in the house and at the pub round the corner, and I really wish we'd had time to spend another night there!

I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to have a weekend of eating, drinking and catching up, and the owners are super helpful and respectful.

Great weekend – thanks Neptune! xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courtyard!
Liked least: The low beams! OUCH!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another fabulous Hen Weekend at The Old Neptune”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We came back to The Old Neptune for my second daughter's Hen Weekend and it lived up to all our expectations yet again. This time the weather wasn't so great, so we took full advantage of the log fire and indoor facilities. It's a great venue for large gatherings and we were 24 females, ages from 23 to 81 years and everyone agreed we had a marvellous weekend! It's well placed for the bars and nightclubs, several good restaurants nearby and plenty of shops in the centre of Ipswich. The house is well cared for and the well stocked kitchen makes catering for large groups very easy. Great party house!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere of the house
Liked least: Having to come home at the end of our stay
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shazza270...
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What an excellent Finale to my 50th Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Arrived last Friday evening - March 15th 2013 - for three nights at the Old Neptune House. It is a beautiful house and very well equiped to accommodate large parties. The kitchen comes with two dishwashers - lots of glasses, plates, bowls and cutlery - there was nothing that we needed that we could not find! The lounge was fab - lots of comfy sofas and a great open fire which we used every evening. The dining room was in the centre of the house and was easy access from both the kitchen and the lounge area. The bedrooms were beautiful and once you got used to the lay out of the house - you could be in any room within seconds! The house is situated in the Ipswich Marina and this is the winning factor - all the shops, wine bars, bars and restaurants are there on your very door stop. There were 24 older ladies who keep ourselves nice and all of my guests thought the house was a great find and I have no doubt we will be returning. One of the ladies has already asked for contact details for a work colleague. Go and stay and enjoy - we certainly did. Would recommend the Salthouse and the Waterfront for there set menu lunch option a real bargain at £18 per head and service and quality of food were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to all the amenities in the Marina
Liked least: Finding it for the first time - a little confusing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous venue for a party weekend!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Spent a weekend at The Old Neptune for my daughters Hen Weekend. 23 females with ages ranging from 22-75 years and we all had a fabulous time. Beautiful house - very clean, well equipped and loads of atmosphere. The owners are very helpful, providing lots of useful information and loads of suggestions for things to do during your stay. Tucked just behind the Marina in Ipswich with plenty of bars and delightful eateries in the vicinity. Held a Murder Mystery evening in the house, which was co-ordinated by Mark Mower and was absolutely brilliant and would definitely recommend if you are looking for something different to do. Altogether a brilliant weekend which appealed to all ages!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Loved it all, can't think of a negative comment
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house
Liked least: coming home!
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Reviewed April 8, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the house was a real treat for all.
Liked least: There was nothing that disappointed - everything was fantastic.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,286
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing