We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value good location”
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value good location”
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Myself and my wife checked in at the earliest allowed time (12 noon) and our room was available immediately. One gripe, the car park is no longer free, it is now £5 a day. The room was clean, modern and large, with a large comfortable bed, working desk and a 2 seater sofa. The standard iron and ironing board also proved very useful. Location is perfect for the football stadium (10 mins walk), the town centre and the marina/port (10 mins). We stayed for 2 days and the staff were helpful and friendly and the room was made up to a high standard. Checkout is also 12 noon, allowing us to take in the town in the morning. The cost being a weekend deal was very competitive. We had not stayed in a Novotel before and this would certainly make us repeat the visit to Ipswich and also try other Novotels.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leslieupchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    369
    134
    46
    17
See reviews for
138
268
67
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

I stayed there for one night and never will go back there. My room was dusty, dirty and the bed was really bad. The bed sheets were old, worn out and dirty. The floor was more confortable to sleep on than the bed. The only thing that was good about the hotel was the breakfast. The price is a total scam. Don't stay there not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gumby1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Recently stayed for 1 night at this Novotel. Good car parking. Were nicely welcomed by Reception, room was all ready (only 10.30am). Room was good size with sofa and plenty of wardrobe space. Bathroom very clean and toilettries. Excellent location, close to town, restaurants and bars. We were staying there to watch a football match and it was literally 5 mins walk to the ground. Great all round hotel for a weekend break, helpful staff.

Helpful?
3 Thank kaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2006

I stayed here for one night on business.

It is an ordinary unexceptional hotel but it works well.

It has a convenient location for the city centre. The only downside is it is on a very busy road. The sound insulation is good but if, like me, you want to open a window it can be very noisy.

The free car parking is a bonus for a hotel so close to the centre.

Reception were very pleasant and helpful.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. there was an iron and ironing board in the room - very useful.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 23, 2005

The Novotel is well situated with the town centre and quay side within an easy walk. There is also a cinema and some chain restaurants close by. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the check-in and check-out being completely painless.

The foyer is geared towards keeping the kids occupied, with a large play area directly next to reception. To the left there is a bar and restaurant area. I cannot comment on either, as I do not eat in hotels unless they have been specifically recommended. There are many restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. We ate in the Chinese restaurant across the road which was above average and mercifully free of excessive MSG.

The room was quite a surprise for the price. Not too hot, decent fixtures and fittings and a decent service from the TV. The beds were not the usual soft sprung nightmares that some of Novotel’s competitors seem to plump for.

If you seek a hotel with ‘character’, or a destination hotel with above average accommodation and food, then the Novotel chain is not for you. If you just want a good value, centrally located, clean and efficient hotel to rest your head, you could do far worse than chose the Novotel Ipswich.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2005

Standard Novotel service and fayre.

Can't complain, it matches any other novotel, only stay here for business, not pleasure.

Book early, it is the only hotel in the centre of Ipswich and gets full regularly.

Helpful?
4 Thank WilmslowTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2004

I have stayed at the Ipswich Novotel two times (Sept 2002, Jan 2004) and have an upcoming stay planned for July 2004. I travel from USA to Ipswich to visit family both in Ipswich and Lowestoft and since having children I no longer can impose on them for a free place to stay. I choose the Novotel because of it's location from the rail station (5 minute taxi) and 5-10 minute walk to town center. I have enjoyed everything about my stays. The room I always get is one with a double bed and a sofa(once it pulled out to a double bed also). I always book as 2 adults (however,we also have 2 toddlers). Between the 4 of us we have plenty of room. However there are different room layouts(always good to ask whats available). Bathroom toilet was in seperate room from sink and bath/shower, enjoyed the few minutes alone behind a closed door!
The lobby is large and has a small area with toys for children. Also a few sofa's and chairs for relaxing right there. I always meet my family downstairs and have a drink or a small bit to eat there instead of in the room. Behind the lobby is a open area with chairs and tables that are used in the evening for the small bar area and socializing. Food is available from the restraunt...very good..reasonably priced. I really like this hotel for many reasons..location, great staff, clean rooms, room size in my visits has been very good (but with 2 children the front desk staff has always offered us as big of a room as they can for the rate I paid), toy area in lobby, open area in lobby to eat, drink and have friend over........and a few other things I have forgotten about. I will always stay there again..with or without the children.
GREAT HOTEL.

Helpful?
2 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.8 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
567 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Property: Novotel Ipswich
Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing