We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Party”
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family had a disastrous Christmas (don't ask), and my daughter phoned round to find us a New Years Party. Novotel fitted us in at the last minute (only three of us). We had no expectations, just relieved to be doing something. BUT WE HAD A GREAT EVENING!!

The event was well organised, staff were very friendly, the meal was excellent. There was a fun casino after the meal, and a brilliant disco. The DJ did a great job and encouraged requests, all of which got played.

There was a lovely atmosphere. We were there for 6-7 hours and the time just flew. Thank you, Novotel, for a great party!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 889 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The rooms are very good, modern, clean and comfortable. I find showers vary a lot from hotel to hotel and they make a big difference to me as there's nothing worse than feeling dirty, the one here was very good.
Food was very good too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We decided to stay at the Novotel as a one night off to spend our anniversary in Ipswich as we were visiting anyway.
The hotel charge was 99 pounds for the night and breakfast included.
I can't fault the cleanliness at all, as everything was spotless.
The hotel were however in my opinion charging silly prices for things such as a bottle of water at 2.50 a small bottle. Even cheekier is that you can't simply run a tap water, as it smelt (I didn't have nerve to taste) of sewers essentially giving you no choice but to pay for over priced drinks after hours.
It has a good location close to town, but it is also a very over busy area near a loud noisy road. Our room was looking over a large roundabout as it was and I must have counted around 12-20 loud traffic noises in the first few hours which is highly annoying when you're trying to sleep. The sound was not dulled out very well at all, as I also heard around 5 ambulance/police sirens going off throughout the night.
The bed was comfy at first, but became quite uncomfy throughout the night. Being nearly 7 months pregnant, this was especially irritating for myself and my partner, who was kept awake because of my restlessness..
There was a lot of banging around opposite us, as we were kindly put in a room which had a service room opposite... Bit odd to put us there as hotel wasn't particularly busy?
Also the breakfast was very poor, with a cold fry up which was quite congealed by the time it reached us... They again were also very stingy with the drinks, making the overpriced water tempting yet again.
The room was also very hot in the evening and freezing in the morning, despite the heating....

As I say I can't fault the cleanliness and politeness of most of the staff, excepting one male who was getting very agitated with me as he couldn't understand what I was trying to tell him. I think he may have been french? He quite rudely told me to wait and brought me a native English speaker who also seemed a bit annoyed. I do remember one male at reception being called Zsor? (Russian fella) but he was exceptionally welcoming and warm to us.

I wouldn't come again, just for the little niggled that made our stay a bit disappointing. I've had better at a Holiday inn!

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room acing away from the road and I don't recommend the breakfasts neithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri1234556789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you like the hotel's cleanliness and also politeness of our staff. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich Centre very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for night as we where going to Xmas party had room on second floor overlooking car park very quite but room looking bit tired red wine stains on carpet bed to near wall had no room to get out of bed the room is big enough not to have it so close to wall party was excellent brill DJ and food excellent breakfast ok staff very polite and helpfull will go back for Xmas party but think better hotels in Ipswich to stay

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sandra s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Ipswich Centre. I will look into this matter, but in the meantime, feel free to contact me on 01473 232400 to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here, 4th visit , first time we have booked an Executive room but definitely worth paying a little more as room was lovely and little extras like free premium WiFi and coffee machine added an extra touch. Very pleasant staff, good breakfast with plenty of choice. We also had an evening meal here on the 2nd night, good value and lovely food. Can also recommend the Chinese Buffet over the road in the retail park. Great location for football ground ,town centre and marina,

Room Tip: Executive rooms on 4th floor ,worth paying a little extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
1.8 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: $57 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing