We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Novotel Offering close to station and City Centre”
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Standard Novotel Offering close to station and City Centre”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Arrived at the Novotel after a 15 minute walk from the station. Clean, good sized room with shower and bath. Good choice of food in the restaurant and wine from the bar. I had a room overlooking a busy roundabout but the double glazing was really good and I hardly noticed any noise. Check out was a bit slow - had to wait over 5 minutes so that could be improved upon. Other than that - nice hotel and being a Novotel you know what you are getting... down to the purple paint in the toilet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel in Ipswich and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    364
    131
    46
    17
See reviews for
136
266
67
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. Having stayed at other hotels on business in Ipswich, I have struggled to find one within budget that meets my needs and expectations. This one did and I shall certainly return. Good room, good food and a very high level of service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Joanna932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a straightforward, stopover hotel for business guests, I cannot really fault Novotel Ipswich. The staff are very friendly, the location is convenient and the room was well-equipped and clean. After a long journey to Ipswich, I appreciated the quick check-in and excellent service in the restaurant. The Superior room I stayed in had a modern bathroom and plenty of space for my needs. Although I appreciated the additional door to limit sound from the corridor, the windows did not allow me to escape the noise from traffic outside or the hourly church bells. Despite this, I did have a good night sleep thanks to the comfortable bed. Vegetarian options are extremely limited in the restaurant, but there was a good selection of hot and cold options for breakfast. This was my first stay in a Novotel and I would consider the chain again for future business trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixorias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your positive comments, and I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel in Ipswich.
Kind regards
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent a great few days here and were delighted to find the staff were so courteous, professional and helpful in every way. The room was spacious, housekeeping good and we were close to shops and to the river for walks etc

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Novotel in Ipswich. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel on 1 June 13. Checkin was seamless, front desk very attentive. Paid GBP 70 for room one up from the basic rate. Room was clean, well decorated with a comfortable bed. Shower & bath to choose from, room was spotlessly clean.

Rest of the hotel followed suit.

Would definitely revisit and its only a 2 minutes walk into the town centre.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Ipswich Centre. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

booked 2 nights for a business trip, checked out first morning.
small and crowded car park, not enough space for all guests...make sure to get there in time
don't bother emailing the reception in advance, they'll just ignore your advance requests
room service is not bad, it just does NOT exist after 10pm, even though last orders are meant to be until 11pm. Don't bother asking for an explanation....the hotel staff will just ignore you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ignacioleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter. I beleive there was miscommunication between you and my team regarding Room service becuase we have 24h rooms service. Contact me at any time on 01473 232400 or email me at H0995-GM@accor.com if you’d like to discuss things further.
With kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucetershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is very close to the centre so it was good for my trip,however they charge a fee for parking at the hotel £7-00.I found this hotel to be of a very good quality and the rooms were very clean and tidy i had an executive room and found it was ideal for business.I will use this hotel again if the holiday inn is full?

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel in Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Property: Novotel Ipswich
Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing