We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No wow no complaints” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No wow no complaints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

for work reasons ive now stayed here twice (oddly in room 304 and 305 which are opposite) on the£55 winter recharge which gets you a queen bed and pull out sofa bed but no breakfast ( not big issue as you are 5 min from the main town center and there are plenty of places to eat around you.
Room is pretty spacious and if your here for business there is a decent sized desk- tv screen can pivot to face which is a nice feature, Normal tea and coffee stuff, no trouser press but you do get an ironing board and iron. bathroom you get the stranded 2 soap bars, 1 bottle shower + 1 bottle shampoo and conditioner if there were 2 sharing id suggest break out your own from your bag. bed felt like a memory foam matress and a pretty good night sleep both times

Staff were pretty friendly and efficient my singing in an out was done in a few hassle free minutes

Location - if your getting to Ipswich via train or bus then you have an easy 10 / 5 min walk from your respective drop off points . If your driving in it looks a pretty simple route with parking at back. As a heads up the entrance is on the side opposite to the roundabout i walked around the block to get in as the back of the building is where the front is

only questionable thing about the room is the toilet in a room by itself but i suppose if 2 of you were there then you can both use things but there is no sink with the toilet

as per title nothing to rave or be wow about but also nothing to complain about

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusBar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    353
    127
    45
    17
See reviews for
136
255
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My first impression was that this was not the Novotel I was expecting based on previous experience. The public areas are pleasant (without being over the top) and spacious. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and even the standard rooms are larger than most. All rooms are well appointed with sofas, as well as a chair and a decent sized bed. The wardrobe unit also incorporates a safe and fridge (with mini-bar) and tea&coffee facilities, etc. The walk-in shower was a surprise as was the bathroom in general which again is very pleasant with nice freebies! The restaurant offers plenty of choice and excellent food in the evening and at breakfast but sadly looses a point for not being clean (crumbs under the table) and relatively unprofessional service from the very young waiter/barman. I would return again quite happily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Serhan ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We got married at the Novotel Ipswich on 3rd nov 2012. Everything from start to finish was exceptional. The dedication of all the staff from cleaners to housekeeping to bar staff was amazing. Anja the events co ordinator is the kind of person you want In charge of your wedding,nothing is too much trouble. The tailor the wedding to suit your needs. The room we stayed in was a standard room with great facilties. I would recommend the novotel ipswich to anyone thinking of having a wedding. Well done to all the staff they made our day!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your wedding. We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel in Ipswich.
Kind regards

Serhan ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was my first experience staying with the Novotel chain. I was quite pleased with the room, which was exceptionally clean. European hotel rooms tend to be small, and the bathrooms even smaller... so this was a pleasant suprise. I was only in town for one night, and didn't get to expereince any of the hotels other ammenities. The front desk staff were very cheery, and quite helpful.
It is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk to the train station, and 5 minutes to most of the shops and restaurants downtown.
And yes... the internet fees are bit "over-the-top" expensive, as most other reviewers have already mentioned.
But I will definitely stay here again if my travels take me back through Ipswich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Ipswich Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed two nights, good location, room was clean, warm &comfortable, staff couldn't do enough for us, they were very friendly & helpful. Had meal in the resturant it was very nice, again friendly waiter.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice. When we (my daughter, son-law & grand-daughter) were leaving they helped us with luggage as had grand-daughter's travel cot. Has it had snowed the car was covered & they offered to help clear it. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Took advice from a review some-one had left on asking for a room overlooking car park as was quieter. Only noise one night came from some-one letting door slam shut on its own which woke me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Ipswich. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich Centre.
Kind regards,
Serhan ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Clean, comfortable but a bit expensive if you use their facilities. Plenty of reasonable pubs and eateries close to the hotel (5 min walk) Very pleasant staff, good bed, hot shower that missed the floor for a change and good sized towels.
If you can avoid the expensive internet,and pricey drinks from the fridge and other sundries, and you book through the internet vis this site its not bad value , £7 per night to park your car in a fairly secure car park at the entrance of the hotel and almost in the center of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel in Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel generally looking a little tired BUT all staff excellent. Can now see from previous reviews that heating is a problem so can understand now why they were quick to resolve my problem by moving me, Bojan and Emma sorted out very promptly. Excellent quality light meals in restaurant and brilliant porridge for breakfast. Overall a very good experience. Like everyone else internet costs are a nonsense.

Room Tip: the Exec rooms are probably not worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasmoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich Centre.
Kind regards
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Property: Novotel Ipswich
Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing