We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night at the Novotel, Ipswich. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking into town, or to the many restaurants near by. Reception were very welcoming. The room was large with an extremely comfortable large bed. We had a fridge in the room which was a bonus as was the dual shower. Parking at £7 for 24hrs was not expected, we assumed it would have been discounted for staying at the hotel, but overall a lovely experience which we will repeat when we're next in Ipswich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel in Ipswich very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    365
    131
    46
    17
See reviews for
137
267
67
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The venue, staff and food was very good. Well presented meals served by more than adequate numbers of staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Well done.
**************************************************************

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank martleshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich again very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skjetten Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice hotel centrally placed for Portman Road, railway station, harbor and central Ipswich. Unfortunately the breakfast is too expensive, so it is recommended to eat this somewhere else. Good service and nice rooms. Possibility of free computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITFCSkjettenNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We at the Novotel in Ipswich very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean and the facilities are good. Breakfast was good quality.

I had to phone for tea and coffee in my room as there was none. There is a mini bar but at about £2.50 for a bottle of water it was expensive. The room was very hot and the mattress not comfortable.

My main gripe is that for a 'business' hotel you have to pay for broadband or wifi. Why isn't it free?!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaT1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, we do provide free web access in our lobby, on our iMac station. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Friendly, clean and spacious hotel, good value if you book the breakfast inclusive. £15 to upgrade to exec room, well worth the ££. Parking a bit pricy but convenient. Paid for internet in room but key board didnt work so they came straight away with a new one so no complaints. Would have like to use wirless but had to pay an extra £9 for that so managed with the tv internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleySam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Ipswich Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I arrived on the 6th November on a business trip staying for 14 nights in a Superior Room. My first impressions were excellent found a space in the car park (£7pn) and checked in 4 hours early to find my room ready for me. The reception were most efficient and friendly.

My room was located on the 4th floor overlooking the roundabout, Many reviewers complained of the noise but I didn't particularly have any trouble found it very quiet.

The room had a very bizzare layout as soon as you walk in you have a separate toilet but no wash basin (not good hygeine) I had a large (firm) double bed, sofabed, & LCD TV.

The room could of done with extra storage as there was only one small wardrobe which also houses the ironing board. Another lacking feature of the hotel was free WiFi, I expect nowadays to have free WiFi in most establishments especially a 4* business hotel But instead the charge was £9.99 for 24hours!!

My room rate came with breakfast, it is a very good offering full English, continental, cereals, pastries, hot drinks, Certainly sets you up well.

I also ate in the Elements restaurant most evenings the food was a little expensive but you do get a good portion size, also the kitchen are very accommodating with special requests. Only downside was that because I was there for 14 nights the food selection became a bit boring as it didn't change would of been nice to have daily specials just to add some variety.

All in all I had a satisfactory stay at the Novotel and can recommend this hotel. The staff are top notch, know their stuff and very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googlejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.8 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brooke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Property: Novotel Ipswich
Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing