We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #25 of 442 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.suffolkcamra.co.uk/pubs/pub/1001 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westerfield http://www.wheresbest.co.uk/venue/67992/The-Swan/
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A wonderful evening with friends. Exceptional decor with such a spacious feel. Faultless service and excellent food. Very good value as well. Most impressed and pleased.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    88
    53
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, Busy and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Saturday night and absolutely packed at 7pm and turning tables by the time we left, so it must be popular! Recently refurbished and looking slick. The staff, lead by the excellent Laura, were friendly and attentive. The food was very good value for money and the puds are to die for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food incredible value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Six of us had a super meal, the very recently updated Swan looked lovely. Laura and her team gave us great service from the moment we arrived right up to opening the door for us when we left. I would strongly recommend the Swan for all occasions and all ages.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk,England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

On visiting The Swan at Westerfield for lunch I found the whole experience most disappointing. Having booked a table for two at 12 noon, Specifically asking for a window table we were placed just inside the doorway and as most people do not know how to close a door correctly we were sitting in a draught all the time, as ourselves, other diners and staff members were constantly closing the door after someone had entered I'm sure there is a simple solution to an obvious problem may I suggest appropriate hinges/self closing spring is fixed to the door. It probably seemed worse after waiting 35 minutes for our meal.

Having ordered a glass of Merlot which tasted like vinegar the waitress was kind enough to change it for a 'similar tasting wine'. The spaghetti and meat balls which I ordered was extremely dry. However the 'highlight' was the mint chocolate we were given with our coffee. The décor was very pleasant but sadly that is the only positive I can honestly report. No, I will not be visiting again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Attention to detail required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch with two children. Usually when we want ,,time off from cooking a Sunday roast we head to the Shepherd and Dog. We thought we'd give the Westerfield Swan a go as its very near our home. At 3.45 it was maybe a quarter full at most which is handy for getting a table but disconcerting compared to the popularity of the S and D. Lack of people means there was a bit of a lack of atmosphere. When we go out we like the buzz of conversation from other tables. The decor is inoffensive, its country style with tasteful Farrow and Ball type colours. It will please most and not offend anyone. Ideal for mixed family groups where you don't want to be too adventurous. The Christmas decorations are pleasingly understated. There was one choice of roast. It was beef. No dedicated childrens menu just smaller plates. That was ok but think they could do with offering at least one child friendly staple eg spaghetti bolognese. I don't know many six year olds that will tackle a dish with Gorgonzola in it...Attention to detail is needed by the waiting staff. Our main course orders were completely wrong we got vegetable casseroles instead of the beef stews we ordered. We asked if we should order some side orders of veg as it looked like the stew just had butternut squash in it, we were assured there were loads of different veg in the stew. When the stew eventually arrived (as our children were finishing their meal) it only had the squash in it. So we missed out on our veggies. They happily got the children some extra gravy when we asked though.
We waited ages for someone to come and clear our plates and offer us the dessert menu. In the end we stacked them ourselves and went off in search of someone. The puddings were nice and pretty substantial. Sticky toffee pudding and lemon chiffon. We shared two between four of us. We ordered two lots of drinks. The second round was a repeat of the first round but took an age to arrive and we were given a large glass of wine when the first round was for a small. We sat in the restaurant which was a tad soulless especially when the wood burner went out... All in all it was "fine".Will we give it another go? Maybe. £62 for two children and two adults. 2 kids meals at a fiver and 2 desserts, 2 glasses of wine and 2 pints of lager.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sambuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Tuddenham, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Pin Mill, Chelmondiston
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing