We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & beer, lovely atmosphere.”
Review of The Woolpack

The Woolpack
Ranked #44 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food & beer, lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Friday lunchtime for a wake. Staff were fantastic, as was the food.

A great multi-room pub, recently refurbished, but not spoilt by being knocked through into one room.

Free WiFi and games available.

Helpful?
1 Thank alex_2010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    41
    7
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Woolpack”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Brilliant atmosphere and good menu...Oh, and the beers aren't half bad too! Ample seating outside for the smokers to add to the pollution from the exhaust fumes either side from the two roads that converge at that junction

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You ain't from round ere....”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stopped by this pub for an afternoon drink after hearing good things about it. The venue is nice and the staff pleasant enough but the stares, glares and bristly looks we got from the locals made us decidedly uncomfortable. We left shortly after finishing our very expensive pint!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JkvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great pub fab food”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Went in here for both days of a great weekend . Met Steve and Grieg 2 nice funny blokes . Abby behind the bar great too there was another 2 who were also great but didn't get their names . Very relaxing place . Food was lovely . I had the cheese n bacon burger and chips which was fab . My wife had the lamb roast and that was gorgeous the lamb was the best I've tasted and plenty of it . Will defiantly be going back in the very near future .

Helpful?
1 Thank telthecabromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Casual lunch after shopping”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had not been to this pub for a few years but nice to find it once again in good hands. Excellent quality pub food with a first class and friendly service. Proper Suffolk ham and plenty of it with wedge chips and free range eggs. lovely plate of pub food. Wife had a first rate West Indian curry. Would definitely go back again. Tony Rowland. Rushmere St Andrew.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woolpack also viewed

 
Tuddenham, Ipswich
 

Been to The Woolpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing