We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine - service sooo slow!”
Review of Beagle Pub

Beagle Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Beagle Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food fine - service sooo slow!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This pace is convenient for us and the food generally is good , especially considering the price.. Unfortunately every time we have been the service is slow, and not terribly attentive. 2.5 hours for a simple 3 course meal of standard pub fare!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    113
    94
    78
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First visit since recent refurbishment. The food is as good as ever and served hot. Not a place to visit if you are in a hurry. 20 minutes between having a drink and being able to order and then another 20 mins before food was delivered.
Like the new decor especially use of mirrors to make it lighter and pictures of beagles. Meal disturbed by incessant barking which we were told was from the manager's dogs in an upstairs flat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently average”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nothing wrong with The Beagle, we visit regularly, it's a little pricey, food is average (clearly heat and serve) nothing to get excited about, service slow, location is convenient for us overall reliable, consistent but average. shame really as it's such a lovely old building in a good location could be so much nicer...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yummysuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Pub/Restaurant”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good menu, friendly staff, an everyday eatery. Menu changes regularly and good specials selection......

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kinkiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food average but service slow”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Admittedly we were 'walk ins' but we were told it would be an hour until we could be seated so we waited, about 10 minutes later we were told a table was free! We were given the menu's and then had to wait about 20 mins until the order was taken (by two waitresses!) then we waited and waited. We watched two tables get food who entered after us, when the third people on a table who came in after us was served food I walked to the bar and ask if our food would be served before the pub closed? I was told it was a problem with the ticket machine! We were passed numerous times by the waitresses while we were waiting but didnt think to find why we were still waiting. The food (when it came) was average and not a lot on the plate for what was being charged. I dont think I will be returning any time soon to eat here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beagle Pub also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Beagle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing