We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brass - CLOSED

Brass
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to The Brasserie. . . True to the definition of the word, The Brasserie offers "simple and hearty food in an unpretentious atmosphere." We pride ourselves on our use of local ingredients, fresh fish and meats, and offer a variety of modern European dishes as well as traditional British favourites. Dining with us is all about you. Whether it be a family gathering, business lunch, birthday or romantic meal for two, our friendly and efficient staff are always on hand to ensure you have everything you need.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

They only had 2 people on for a full restuarant on a busy saturday night, it took us an hour to order and only cos we pushed that through. We wanted to eat and get out to the bars and it just wasnt slick enough. Food was good and so was the wine

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bumble1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at Brass, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you very much , We always try our best to give the best quality of food and service. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Goood Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice ambiance. Good food and service. Although on the night we dined there was a rather noisy group celebration at the back of the restaurant, where we were first seated, we were promptly moved to the front when staff realised it was a bit of an issue for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, General Manager at Brass, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently had an extremely enjoyable evening visit to this restaurant. Had previously been for an office Christmas Meal and had been impressed. On this occasion chose from the set menu which still had a good selection of course options. Had 3 courses and each one was well cooked and well presented. My friend also enjoyed his meal as much as I did. The price was very good, not excessive. Have to mention the waitresses, Bronwyn and Allisya (apologies if those are spelt incorrectly). Their service was friendly, not rushed and they were both very helpful and attentive. Overall an extremely satisfying evening. I will certainly return...very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at Brass, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Laid Back Place with Lovely Happy and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My fiance Giles and I went for dinner on Saturday evening, and it was just perfect.
Bron, our waitress, greeted us with huge enthusiasm and a lovely smile - there was just her and one other waitress serving an (almost) full restaurant and not once did we have to wait for anything - nor were we "over-fussed" - these girls have got it just right!
Halfway through dinner, I spilt a whole glass of red wine - half of it up the wall, the other half all over my dress! Again, no fuss made whatsoever, the wine was cleared up and I was given both a glass of soda water, and a glass of white wine to try to sort my dress out (amazingly, the soda water, applied liberally with plenty of tissues did the trick!). As I hadnt needed the white wine, I also got that as a bonus to drink (after throwing the red everywhere!)
The food was delicious, arrived quickly (but with plenty of space in between courses) and warm bread straight from the oven and a jug of chilled tap water were brought to us as soon as we sat down. The set menu is available throughout the week and Saturdays you can have that or a la carte.
Very reasonably priced (3 courses for £19.95 on a Saturday - I'd say that's great value) and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended and we will be going back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slinkychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at Brass, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

went in my own for an early supper on a weekday evening when passing through Ipswich

owner serving and very helpful and friendly

the food was excellent and good value. Starter of whitebait was especialy good - succulent and not over-battered as is often the case

it was very quiet , which was a shame as it deserves to be busier - but it was early on a Tuesday evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z3368FMpaull, Front Office Manager at Brass, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you very much , We always try our best to give the best quality of food and service. See you soon!
More
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass also viewed

Tuddenham, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing