We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable chairs for once”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cineworld Cinemas

Cineworld Cinemas
Ranked #2 of 30 Fun & Games in Ipswich
Attraction details
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable chairs for once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Obviously with all cineworld cinemas, they're very overpriced for tickets, food and drinks. However, using a cinema card with discounts on beverages, it works out a lot cheaper. The seating in this one is very good, nice comfy chairs with lots of legroom!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    34
    10
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
225 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tatty, not planned well and expensive. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday morning. Which was very busy. But there were long queues as you had to buy tickets from the refreshment desks. With 8 or so ticket tills closed??? Oh by the way..not paying £8 for popcorn and coke! Massive rip off. Neither were many other customers! ! When we entered the theatre seats were tatty and some were ripped and loose. Movie was ok but the whole experience was expensive. As it cost £4 to park whilst you watch the movie. Would rather use a small local movie theatre.

Helpful?
Thank Ipswich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The other half and I went today - Imax novices we weren't sure what to expect, WOW, fantastic!!! Absolutely marvellous, we were both so impressed, spoilt us now for any other type of showing (smile)
If in doubt that it's worth the cost, try it, believe me you won't regret it.
Plus the cinema was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and very helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonGhannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unlimited Card is genius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have had an unlimited card since January and it is brilliant. You just need to go twice a month and it covers your payment!
The cinema is always clean and tidy (trust me, I know, I go atleast once a week.. sometimes twice a day) they ALWAYS have the newest films and alot to choose from.

There are some negatives to add, but more constructive critism really:
- The toilets do need to be updated
- The food stalls are incredibly expensive and even with an unlimited card (you get 10% off) I am put off with the prices

The cinema is fantastic and it is always busy which is nice to see.
My boyfriend and I had an amazing time a few months ago when we say Avengers Assemble in IMAX 3D at 9pm followed by the brand new Iron Man 3 as it came out at Midnight. That was very reasonably priced (the prices online are very good),

So overall, thank you Cineworld for a great experience, I look forward to seeing another film with you soon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderwomanuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Needs improving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Generally our experiences have been good; great choice of films, although you have to watch some within a week or they're gone.. Why they have to show the 'bacon' advertisement just before the film every time is beyond a joke and repeated for four months at a time and then replaced with another ridiculous version for another four....
Toilets are filthy and smelly, big put off, hold one for a restaurant before and after. Starbucks coming to the bar upstairs, hmmm will they still offer alcohol?? Food over priced, unhealthy option only available and fizzy drinks, yeah ok some might say that's the cinema experience but those of us that have the unlimited card might like more choice and not at crazy prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank grantfamilydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cineworld Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to Cineworld Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing