We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting when sunny”

The Willis Building
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Interesting when sunny”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I like photography so enjoyed getting some shots of the reflections from the dark glass of the surrounding buildings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“willis building”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

built between 1970-75 this building is a great bit of architecture ..... sitting the centre of town it is made of glass black panels 3 floors high... nice to view at night when the lights have been left on inside .... just a shame more of the buildings in town aren't like this ... very photo-genic....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clyde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Open Days”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If there's an open day take the chance and visit this famous building. i love the garden on the roof!

Helpful?
1 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The future.....frozen in time !”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This building was way ahead of it's time when built and won several awards. Because of it's iconic status, it's now frozen in time and much of what you see cannot be altered.
Know to many as "The Gold Fish Bowl", if you haven't been in this building, look out for the occasional open days. They are often at short notice and advertised in the local press or on BBC Radio Suffolk.
Staff make you feel most welcome and have a real pride in their place of work.
A tour of this building holds many interesting surprises !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An architectural gem!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

First saw the 'slug' in the early 80's and thought it was a fantastic design that hugged the corner of Princes Street with such panache and how clever to see the surrounding buildings mirrored in the external cladding. I Some 30 years later I still think it is an iconic building that has really stood the test of time. I wish I could say the same about the other office blocks in Ipswich.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank arransue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Willis Building also viewed

 

Been to The Willis Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing